La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Quebec Elections 2018: the environmental emergency at the forefront

OPEN LETTER

The electoral campaign allowed political parties to make known their offers and their vision for the future. The Fondation Rivières Board of Directors is very concerned about certain ideas expressed by the different parties. He invites the population to think about the impact that certain promises would have on the environment. The global urgency to act to mitigate climate change is paramount. And we absolutely must take care of water, the source of life.

Dirty and wasted water, biodiversity affected

Currently, approximately 89 Quebec municipalities still discharge their untreated wastewater into the environment. Elsewhere, episodes of wastewater overflows from sewers, during rainy weather, increase with the development of territories, because infrastructures have insufficient capacity. Industrial wastewater discharges, for their part, are rarely controlled.

Initiatives aimed at reducing bank erosion and the use of pesticides in agricultural areas remain the exception. However, pollution flows are clearly visible from the air, and therefore easy to identify. Drinking water, for its part, becomes scarce during periods of heatwaves. Many development projects are planned without prior verification of drinking water supply and wastewater treatment capacities.

Red light for hydroelectric development

The development of hydroelectricity has negative impacts on biodiversity. It is misleading to present this energy as “green” just for its greenhouse gas reduction benefits. Instead of promising the construction of new dams, Quebec must emphasize the production of “negawatts”, this energy coming from the economies that we can all produce.

On the other hand, the energy sector is undergoing transformation. The cost of wind power, at 6.3¢/Kwh, is now lower than that of hydroelectricity and creates thousands of jobs. That of solar energy is in free fall. Geothermal energy provides savings on heating and air conditioning. Hydro-Québec will soon offer self-production to its customers. The Ouranos group predicts a 12 % increase in precipitation by 2050 in northern regions, which would increase production by the same amount if Hydro limits excess water discharge.

We must therefore no longer harness new rivers at high prices in order to export electricity, while Hydro-Québec cannot make a profit from the sale of its surplus.

Backfill, concrete, asphalt the area

New Regulation respecting compensation for damage to wetlands and bodies of water is already contested first by François Legault who declared that the new rules “lack common sense” and represent a " issue " for the development of cities. Jean-François Lisée then spoke out, criticizing the application sometimes “ Kafkaesque » of the regulations and specifying “ that wetlands must be intelligently protected, any major reform requiring implementation adjustments ". The importance of wetlands being recognized, let us finally add that even the Insurance Bureau of Canada mentions in a September 2018 report [1] the economic profitability of natural infrastructure (including wetlands) as a flood mitigation solution. However, the new regulation aims to establish a fair value for these environments. Developers will only have to take this value into account in their choice of land and minimize the impacted surface area.

Drilling in watercourses

The new regulations have not closed the door to exploration and exploitation almost everywhere in Quebec, including in waterways, with exceptions. Anticosti Island and certain portions of the river are also threatened by a possible CAQ government, even if it is in the minority. Regional social acceptability becomes a decision-making parameter when a government does not have a unifying vision.

The role of the state

The recent Quebec water strategy, which follows the National water policy of 2002, does it provide solutions to these issues? Watershed organizations, the important pivot on which government strategy is based, will have to assume an even more important role.

But shouldn't the State play an increased role in monitoring and supporting municipalities, in the agricultural sector as well as in the industrial sector? The population must give, through their vote, a strong signal that they expect much more important actions than the simple elimination of plastic straws. This work can be financed by a fair water fee, currently tiny, and by better enforcement of laws and regulations.

Alain Saladzius, Eng.
Chairman of the Board of Directors
presidency@fondationrivieres.org

Photo: Jaël Vallée/Unsplash

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informés de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec

Élections Québec 2018 : L’urgence environnementale au premier plan

, ,

Lettre ouverte – Montréal le 26 septembre 2018

 La campagne électorale a permis aux partis politiques de faire connaître leurs offres et leur vision d’avenir. Le Conseil d’administration de la Fondation Rivières est fort inquiet de certaines idées exprimées par les différents partis. Il invite la population à réfléchir à l’impact qu’auraient certaines promesses sur l’environnement. L’urgence planétaire d’agir pour atténuer les changements climatiques est primordiale. Et il faut absolument prendre soin de l’eau, source de vie.

L’eau souillée et gaspillée, la biodiversité affectée

Actuellement, environ 89 municipalités québécoises déversent encore leurs eaux usées non-traitées dans l’environnement (Liste des municipalités sans OMAE). Ailleurs, des épisodes de surverses d’eaux usées provenant des égouts, en temps de pluie, augmentent au gré du développement des territoires, car les infrastructures ont une capacité insuffisante. Les rejets d’eaux usées industrielles, de leur côté, sont rarement contrôlés.

Les initiatives visant à réduire l’érosion des berges et l’usage de pesticides en milieu agricole demeurent l’exception. Les écoulements de pollution sont pourtant bien apparents du haut des airs, et donc faciles à identifier. L’eau potable, quant à elle, se raréfie en périodes de canicules. De nombreux projets de développement sont planifiés sans vérification préalable des capacités d’approvisionnement en eau potable et de traitement des eaux usées.

Feu rouge au développement hydroélectrique

Le développement de l’hydroélectricité a des impacts négatifs sur la biodiversité. Il est trompeur de présenter cette énergie comme étant « verte » juste pour ses bénéfices de réduction des gaz à effet de serre. Au lieu de promettre la construction de nouveaux barrages, Québec doit mettre l’emphase sur la production de « négawatts », cette énergie provenant des économies que nous pouvons tous produire.

D’autre part, le secteur de l’énergie est en pleine transformation. Le coût de l’éolien, à 6,3 ¢/Kwh, est maintenant inférieur à celui de l’hydroélectricité et crée des milliers d’emplois. Celui de l’énergie solaire est en chute libre. La géothermie procure des économies en chauffage et en climatisation. Hydro-Québec offrira bientôt l’autoproduction à ses clients. Le groupe Ouranos prévoit une augmentation de 12 % des précipitations d’ici 2050 dans les régions nordiques, ce qui augmenterait d’autant la production si Hydro limite les déversements de surplus d’eau.

Il ne faut donc plus harnacher de nouvelles rivières à fort prix dans le but d’exporter de l’électricité, alors qu’Hydro-Québec ne peut rentabiliser la vente de ses surplus.

Remblayer, bétonner, asphalter le territoire

Le nouveau Règlement sur la compensation pour l’atteinte aux milieux humides et hydriques est déjà contesté d’abord par François Legault qui a déclaré que les nouvelles règles « manquent de bon sens » et représentent un « problème » pour le développement des villes. Jean-François Lisée s’est ensuite prononcé en critiquant l’application parfois « kafkaïenne » de la réglementation et en précisant « qu’il faut protéger les milieux humides intelligemment, toute grande réforme nécessitant des ajustements d’implantation ». L’importance des milieux humides étant reconnue, ajoutons finalement que même le Bureau d’assurance du Canada fait état dans un rapport de septembre 2018 [1] de la rentabilité économique des infrastructures naturelles (dont les milieux humides) comme solution de mitigation aux inondations. Or, le nouveau règlement vise à établir une juste valeur à ces milieux. Les promoteurs n’auront qu’à prendre cette valeur en compte dans leur choix de terrains et minimiser la surface impactée.

Forages dans les cours d’eau

La nouvelle réglementation n’a pas fermé la porte à l’exploration et l’exploitation presque partout au Québec, y compris dans les cours d’eau, sauf exceptions. L’île d’Anticosti et certaines portions du fleuve sont de plus menacées par un éventuel gouvernement caquiste, même s’il est minoritaire. L’acceptabilité sociale régionale devient un paramètre décisionnel quand un gouvernement n’a pas de vision rassembleuse.

Le rôle de l’État

La récente Stratégie québécoise de l’eau, qui fait suite à la Politique nationale de l’eau de 2002, apporte-t-elle des solutions à ces enjeux ?  Les organismes de bassins versants, l’important pivot sur lequel repose la stratégie gouvernementale, devront assumer un rôle encore plus important.

Mais l’État ne devrait-il pas jouer un rôle accru dans la surveillance et l’accompagnement des municipalités, dans le secteur agricole ainsi que dans le secteur industriel ? La population doit donner, par son vote, un signal fort qu’elle s’attend à des gestes beaucoup plus importants que la simple élimination des pailles de plastique. Ce travail peut être financé par une juste redevance sur l’eau, actuellement infime, et par une meilleure application des lois et règlements.

 

Alain Saladzius, ing.

Président du Conseil d’administration

presidence@fondationrivieres.org

0 réponses

Répondre

Se joindre à la discussion ?
Vous êtes libre de contribuer !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *