La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Letter to the Ministry of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change: Dam safety

Eau générique Faites un Don

Montreal, May 7, 2019
TRANSMISSION BY EMAIL


Mr. Benoit Charette, Minister
Ministry of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change
Marie-Guyart Building
675, boulevard René-Lévesque Est, 30e floor
Quebec (Quebec) G1R 5V7

Subject: Dam safety – Delays in securing hydroelectric power stations

Minister,

The recent last-minute evacuation of residents of Grenville-sur-la-Rouge, threatened by the rupture of the dam at the Bell power station, owned by Hydro-Québec, once again highlights the importance of ensuring sound management of works. The Dam Safety Act is supposed to assume most of the governance, ensure the safety of the population and preserve capital assets, but following this event, we checked what is happening with the others hydroelectric power stations. We were able to note gaps in its application. 

According to the Directory of Dams that we consulted, the production and approval of reports assessing the safety of structures and the implementation of corrective measures are experiencing worrying delays for around forty installations in Quebec. These delays sometimes exceed 10 years and are noted at the different stages of control provided for in the Law:

  • lack of safety assessment study;
  • delays by owners in submitting or completing their study;
  • delays in submitting the statement of corrections and the implementation schedule;
  • delays in carrying out the work and non-compliance with the approved schedule.

This last type of delay or non-compliance is the most frequently observed. It is difficult to understand why the completion of the work is so delayed when for these works, according to the Directory of Dams, the steps required to ensure safety are not carried out. The Grenville-sur-la-Rouge power station is part of this list, with a delay incurred since the approval of the schedule of required fixes of almost four years. And it took three years to approve the safety assessment report! Shouldn’t there be an obligation to proceed expeditiously? And should we base the work schedule essentially on the opinion of the owner's Engineer, as currently provided for in the Dams Act? 

It appears to us that the process must be accelerated by tightening project monitoring and revising the Dam Safety Act in order to set maximum deadlines and penalties in the event of non-compliance. Flood flows of different recurrences should possibly be revised in the current context of climate change. 

We attach, annexed to this email as well as an attachment, a list of installations whose monitoring appears to be deficient, only for hydroelectric power stations.

Furthermore, the electricity from several of these power stations is purchased by Hydro-Québec. It seems justified to us that Hydro-Québec does not pay the full price to purchase electricity from installations that do not comply with safety rules or do not hold all the rights and titles.

We remain available for any collaboration you may wish in this matter. 

Please accept, Mr. Minister, the expression of our distinguished feelings.

Alain Saladzius, P.Eng., FIC
President, Fondation Rivières

Photo: Tim Marshall/Unsplash

Labels

Our recent news

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Lettre au ministère de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques : Sécurité des barrages

Montréal, le 7 mai 2019
TRANSMISSION PAR COURRIEL


Monsieur Benoit Charette, Ministre
Ministère de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques
Édifice Marie-Guyart
675, boulevard René-Lévesque Est, 30e étage
Québec (Québec) G1R 5V7


Objet : Sécurité des barrages – Délais dans la sécurisation de centrales hydroélectriques

Monsieur le Ministre,

La récente évacuation de dernière minute des résidents de Grenville-sur-la-Rouge, menacés par la rupture du barrage de la centrale Bell, propriété d’Hydro-Québec, met de nouveau en évidence l’importance d’assurer une saine gestion des ouvrages. La Loi sur la sécurité des barrages est censée assumer l’essentiel de la gouvernance, d’assurer la sécurité de la population et de préserver les immobilisations, mais à la suite de cet évènement, nous avons vérifié ce qu’il en est des autres centrales hydroélectriques. Nous avons pu constater des lacunes dans son application. 

Selon le Répertoire des barrages que nous avons consulté, la production et l’approbation des rapports d’évaluation de la sécurité des ouvrages et de la mise en œuvre des correctifs accusent des retards inquiétants pour une quarantaine d’installations au Québec. Ces délais dépassent parfois 10 ans et sont constatés aux différentes étapes de contrôle prévues à la Loi :

  • absence d’étude d’évaluation de la sécurité;
  • retards des propriétaires à déposer ou compléter leur étude;
  • délais dans le dépôt de l’exposé des correctifs et du calendrier de mise en oeuvre;
  • délais dans la réalisation des travaux et non-respect du calendrier approuvé.

Ce dernier type de délai ou de non-respect est le plus fréquemment constaté. Il est difficile de comprendre pourquoi la réalisation des travaux est autant retardée alors que pour ces ouvrages, selon le Répertoire des barrages, les étapes requises en vue d’assurer la sécurité ne sont pas réalisées. La centrale de Grenville-sur-la-Rouge fait partie de cette liste, avec un délai encouru depuis l’approbation du calendrier des correctifs requis de bientôt quatre ans. Et il aura fallu trois ans pour approuver le rapport d’évaluation de la sécurité ! Ne devrait-il pas y avoir une obligation à procéder avec célérité ? Et doit-on baser le calendrier des travaux essentiellement sur l’avis de l’Ingénieur du propriétaire, comme le prévoit actuellement la Loi sur les barrages ? 

Il nous apparaît que le processus doit être accéléré par resserrement du suivi des projets et une révision de la Loi sur la sécurité des barrages afin de fixer des délais maximaux et des pénalités en cas de non-respect. Les débits de crues de différentes récurrences devraient possiblement être révisés dans le contexte actuel des changements climatiques. 

Nous joignons, annexé à ce courriel ainsi qu’en pièce jointe, une liste des installations dont le suivi apparaît déficient, uniquement pour les centrales hydroélectriques.

D’autre part, l’électricité de plusieurs de ces centrales est achetée par Hydro-Québec. Il nous apparaît justifié qu’Hydro-Québec ne paie pas le plein prix pour acheter de l’électricité provenant d’installations non-conformes aux règles de sécurité ou ne détenant pas tous les droits et titres.

Nous demeurons disponibles pour toute collaboration que vous pourriez souhaiter dans ce dossier. 

Veuillez agréer, Monsieur le Ministre, l’expression de nos sentiments distingués.

Alain Saladzius, ing., FIC
Président, Fondation Rivières

Photo : Tim Marshall/Unsplash

Inscrivez vous à notre infolettre →

Vous aimerez aussi

Thématiques qui pourraient vous intéresser