La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Letter to the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing and the Ministry of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change: Green infrastructure work

Montreal, December 22, 2020
TRANSMISSION BY EMAIL

Madame Andrée Laforest, Minister
Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing
Jean-Baptiste-De La Salle Building
10, rue Pierre-Olivier-Chauveau
Chauveau Wing, 4th floor
Quebec (Quebec) G1R 4J3

Montreal, December 21, 2020
TRANSMISSION BY EMAIL

Mr. Benoit Charette, Minister
Ministry of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change
Marie-Guyart Building
675, boulevard René-Lévesque Est, 30e floor
Quebec (Quebec) G1R 5V7


Subject: Green infrastructure work – Ineligibility for subsidy programs

Madam Minister,

Minister,

We hereby wish to bring to your attention an element of a solution to the problem of spills of untreated wastewater during periods of rain and melting: the financing of green infrastructure which uses different natural processes and vegetation. It is high time that these are no longer categorized as “innovations”, but considered as solutions in their own right.

All experts in water management, particularly those in your Ministry, agree on the importance of investing in such green infrastructure to better manage stormwater. In addition to reducing discharges of untreated wastewater, they help avoid pollution caused by contaminated rainwater transported to waterways and recharge the water table, to name just these benefits. These green infrastructures can be built using proven techniques which are carefully described in the Stormwater Management Guide produced jointly by the Ministries of the Environment and Municipal Affairs a decade ago.

However, the three main financing tools available for such infrastructure do not recognize this type of project. Eligible work only targets usual civil construction (sewers, aqueduct, treatment systems), both for the Gasoline Excise Tax (TECQ) program with an envelope of 3.4 G$ and for the Infrastructure Fund municipal water supply (FIMEAU) with 1.5 G$, which benefit from a federal financial contribution. It is the same with the Municipal Water Infrastructure Program (PRIMEAU) managed by the government of Quebec.

Municipalities and their citizens are deprived of the support they need to choose the best solutions available for improving their water management. Some of them use other research-based programs, but these are much less funded and smaller in scope, whereas green infrastructure is proven, but
as are traditional solutions.

During this time, water stakeholders, including the Regroupement des organisms de bassins versants du Québec, are producing design guides, raising awareness and promoting these simple-to-implement techniques. Cities are incorporating this dimension into their projects, such as Montreal with the renovation of Papineau Street and Trois-Rivières for Saint-Maurice Boulevard. And cities, like Quebec, go even further by adopting the concept of “sponge city”.

The Municipal Water Infrastructure Fund (FIMEAU)

FIMEAU presents the same shortcomings. In sub-components 1.1 and 2.2, FIMEAU accepts
only the following domestic or rainwater wastewater infrastructures:
• Collection and interception conduct;
• retention pond;
• pumping and treatment station;
• emissary.

We should not be surprised that of the 280 FIMEAU projects announced on August 20, 2020, none included green infrastructure despite the fact that these sometimes constitute an optimal solution. The next call for projects is planned for 2022 and we strongly recommend that it be improved immediately to allow the construction of green infrastructure.

The excise tax on gasoline and the Quebec contribution (TECQ) 2019-2023

This program provides for the payment of large sums and for the work to be completed within three years, December 31, 2023. This work must target, as a priority:

1) Installation and upgrading of drinking water and sanitation equipment;
2) studies aimed at improving knowledge of municipal infrastructures;
3) renewal of drinking water and sewer pipes;
4) local roads and other municipal infrastructure (buildings, internet, etc.).

As the choice of work and its implementation is still not advanced, we recommend immediately modifying the rules to make the construction of green infrastructure eligible in the current 2019-2023 program. It should be noted that such a modification of the rules for these two financial assistance programs does not require a budgetary addition.

Resolving the various issues associated with climate change and water sanitation poses major challenges that must be addressed according to best practices and scientific knowledge. Some of them are already well described in the documents produced by the MELCC jointly with the MAMH. We invite you to recognize them as part of your department's financial assistance programs.

We remain available for any additional information.

Please accept, Madam Minister, the expression of our distinguished greetings.

Alain Saladzius, P.Eng., FIC
President, Fondation Rivières

A similar missive was sent to Catherine McKenna, Minister of Infrastructure and Communities, on December 2, 2020. Check out his response.

Photo: Scott Webb/Unsplash

Labels

Our recent news

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Lettre au ministère des Affaires municipales et de l’Habitation et au ministère de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques : Travaux d’infrastructures vertes

Montréal, le 22 décembre 2020
TRANSMISSION PAR COURRIEL

Madame Andrée Laforest, Ministre
Ministère des Affaires municipales et de l’Habitation
Édifice Jean-Baptiste-De La Salle
10, rue Pierre-Olivier-Chauveau
Aile Chauveau, 4e étage
Québec (Québec) G1R 4J3

Montréal, le 21 décembre 2020
TRANSMISSION PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Benoit Charette, Ministre
Ministère de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques
Édifice Marie-Guyart
675, boulevard René-Lévesque Est, 30e étage
Québec (Québec) G1R 5V7


Objet : Travaux d’infrastructures vertes – Non-admissibilité aux programmes de subventions

Madame la Ministre,

Monsieur le Ministre,

Nous désirons par la présente porter à votre attention un élément de solution à la problématique des déversements d’eaux usées non-traitées en périodes de pluie et de fonte : le financement des infrastructures vertes qui font appel à différents processus naturels et à la végétation. Il est plus que temps que celles-ci ne soient plus catégorisées comme des « innovations », mais bien considérées comme des solutions à part entière.

Tous les experts dans la gestion des eaux, notamment ceux de votre Ministère, s’entendent sur l’importance d’investir dans de telles infrastructures vertes pour mieux gérer les eaux pluviales. Outre la réduction des déversements d’eaux usées non traitées, elles permettent d’éviter la pollution causée par les eaux pluviales contaminées acheminées aux cours d’eau et de recharger la nappe phréatique, pour ne nommer que ces bénéfices. Ces infrastructures vertes peuvent être réalisées selon des techniques éprouvées qui sont d’ailleurs minutieusement décrites dans le Guide de gestion des eaux pluviales produit conjointement par les ministères de l’Environnement et des Affaires municipales il y a une décennie.

Or, les trois principaux outils de financement disponibles pour de telles infrastructures ne reconnaissent pas ce type de projets. Les travaux admissibles ciblent uniquement les constructions civiles habituelles (égouts, aqueduc, systèmes de traitement), tant pour le programme Taxe d’accise sur l’essence (TECQ) avec une enveloppe de 3,4 G$ que pour le Fonds pour l’infrastructure municipale d’eau (FIMEAU) avec 1,5 G$, qui bénéficient d’une contribution financière fédérale. Il en est de même avec le Programme d’infrastructures municipales d’eau (PRIMEAU) géré par le gouvernement du Québec.

Les municipalités et leurs citoyens se voient privés du soutien dont elles ont besoin pour choisir les meilleures solutions disponibles pour l’amélioration de leur gestion des eaux. Certaines d’entre-elles utilisent d’autres programmes axés sur la recherche, mais il s’agit de programmes beaucoup moins financés et dont la portée est réduite, alors que les infrastructures vertes sont éprouvées, tout
comme le sont les solutions traditionnelles.

Pendant ce temps, les acteurs de l’eau, dont le Regroupement des organismes de bassins versants du Québec, produisent des guides de conception, sensibilisent et font la promotion de ces techniques simples à implanter. Des villes incorporent cette dimension dans leurs projets, comme Montréal avec la réfection de la rue Papineau et Trois-Rivières pour le boulevard Saint-Maurice. Et des villes, comme Québec, vont plus loin encore en adoptant le concept de « ville éponge ».

Le Fonds sur l’infrastructure municipale d’eau (FIMEAU)

Le FIMEAU présente les mêmes lacunes. Aux sous-volets 1.1 et 2.2, le FIMEAU accepte
uniquement les infrastructures d’eaux usées domestiques ou pluviales suivantes :
• Conduite de collecte et d’interception;
• bassin de rétention;
• station de pompage et de traitement;
• émissaire.

On ne doit pas s’étonner que sur les 280 projets FIMEAU annoncés le 20 août 2020, aucun n’incluait des infrastructures vertes malgré que celles-ci constituent parfois une solution optimale. Le prochain appel de projets est prévu en 2022 et nous recommandons fortement qu’il soit bonifié immédiatement afin de permettre la réalisation d’infrastructures vertes.

La Taxe d’accise sur l’essence et la contribution du Québec (TECQ) 2019-2023

Ce programme prévoit le versement d’importantes sommes et que les travaux soient complétés d’ici trois ans, le 31 décembre 2023. Ceux-ci travaux doivent cibler, en priorité :

1) L’installation, la mise aux normes des équipements d’eau potable et d’assainissement;
2) les études visant à améliorer la connaissance des infrastructures municipales;
3) le renouvellement des conduites d’eau potable et d’égouts;
4) la voirie locale et autres infrastructures municipales (bâtiments, internet, etc.).

Comme le choix des travaux et leur réalisation est encore peu avancé, nous recommandons d’en modifier immédiatement les règles pour rendre admissible la réalisation d’infrastructures vertes dans la programmation 2019-2023 en cours. Il est à souligner qu’une telle modification des règles pour ces deux programmes d’aide financière ne requiert pas d’ajout budgétaire.

La résolution des différentes problématiques associées aux changements climatiques et à l’assainissement des eaux pose des défis majeurs qu’il importe de relever selon les meilleures pratiques et connaissances scientifiques. Certaines d’entre-elles sont déjà bien décrites dans les documents produits par le MELCC conjointement avec le MAMH. Nous vous invitons à les reconnaître dans le cadre des programmes d’aide financière de votre ministère.

Nous demeurons disponibles pour tout renseignement supplémentaire.

Veuillez agréer, madame la Ministre, l’expression de nos salutations distinguées.

Alain Saladzius, ing., FIC
Président, Fondation Rivières

Une missive similaire a été envoyé à Catherine McKenna, Ministre de l’Infrastructure et des Collectivités, le 2 décembre 2020. Consultez sa réponse.

Photo : Scott Webb/Unsplash

Inscrivez vous à notre infolettre →

Vous aimerez aussi

Thématiques qui pourraient vous intéresser