La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Letter to the Ministry of Forests, Wildlife and Parks and the Ministry of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change: Request for a moratorium on the use of Bti larvicide

Montreal, May 19, 2021
TRANSMISSION BY EMAIL

Mr. Pierre Dufour, Minister
Ministry of Forests, Wildlife and Parks
5700 4th Avenue West
Quebec (Quebec) G1H 6R1

Montreal, May 3, 2021
TRANSMISSION BY EMAIL

Mr. Benoit Charette, Minister
Ministry of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change
Marie-Guyart Building
675 René-Lévesque Boulevard East, 30th floor
Quebec (Quebec) G1R 5V7

 

Subject: Request for a moratorium on the use of Bti larvicide

Minister,

For more than 35 years now, our waterways and wetlands have been sprayed each summer with Bti, a still little-known insecticide mainly causing the death of aquatic larvae of stinging insects. Bti owes its name to a bacteria naturally present in soil. This bacteria, once ingested, produces microscopic crystals in the intestine of the larvae and triggers a toxic reaction ultimately leading to their death. However, this bacteria only represents on average 7 % of the commercial formulation currently applied. A cocktail of products whose recipe is protected by industrial secret is combined to increase its effectiveness, such as, for example, protective agents against ultraviolet rays. It is therefore difficult to describe this insecticide as “organic”. Furthermore, unlike most insecticides spread on cultivated soils, Bti is applied directly into our waterways: one of our greatest assets that we must treat with caution.

Bti has long been considered environmentally safe, believing that its mechanism of action was sufficiently complex and specific to only target biting insects. However, recent independent studies have demonstrated that Bti can directly and significantly affect the size of chironomid populations (Allgeier et al. 2019, Kästel et al. 2017). As this group of insects constitutes a prime food source for many birds and amphibians, the size and development of these organisms may be affected (Empey et al. 2021). Such a disruption of the balance of the food chain is worrying for the integrity of our aquatic ecosystems. The cumulative effects of all land application projects do not appear to be monitored or documented. These concerns are detailed in a guidance document produced by your ministry some time ago. It also highlights a lack of Canadian studies regarding the impacts on wildlife and the food web. However, more than 40 municipalities currently hold spraying authorizations issued on the basis of wildlife notices produced by your ministry. On the other hand, several citizen groups have raised significant concerns about the relevance of such spraying and their impacts, accompanied by various studies.

At the commercial level, the Quebec Bti spreading industry is a duopoly made up of only two companies (GDG Environnement and Roy Forestry Advisors). This lack of competition is potentially problematic for sound management of municipal finances.

Several alternatives to spraying exist for controlling biting insects. These appear less damaging to our natural environments and significantly less costly (e.g. traps, garlic, nest boxes, etc.). In addition, their scope can be modulated by targeting only habitable spaces, thus avoiding the spreading of a biocidal substance in our waterways.

Recommendations

  • A moratorium on the issuance of spreading authorizations while a review of the ministerial position is produced;
  • recognition of the preponderance of the precautionary principle given the decline in populations of birds, amphibians and insects on Quebec territory pending the next government policy;
  • recognition of the effectiveness and safety aspect of alternative control methods so that the municipalities most seriously affected by the nuisance caused by biting insects can use them;
  • to the MFPP: a review of the MFFP's position on Bti in light of new independent knowledge acquired around the world over the last two decades and presented in part in the MFFP orientation document produced in 2019;
  • to the MELCC: a review of the MELCC's position on Bti dating from 1997, updated in 2004, in light of new independent knowledge acquired around the world over the last two decades and in collaboration with the MFFP.

Thanking you for your attention to this letter, we remain available for any additional information.

Please accept, Mr. Minister, the expression of our distinguished greetings.

Alain Saladzius, P.Eng., FIC
President

Labels

Our recent news

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Explore

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed about our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Faites un don

Lettre au ministère des Forêts, de la Faune et des Parcs et au ministère de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques : Demande de moratoire sur l’utilisation du larvicide Bti

Montréal, le 19 mai 2021
TRANSMISSION PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Pierre Dufour, Ministre
Ministère des Forêts, de la Faune et des Parcs
5700, 4e Avenue Ouest
Québec (Québec) G1H 6R1

Montréal, le 3 mai 2021
TRANSMISSION PAR COURRIEL

Monsieur Benoit Charette, Ministre
Ministère de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques
Édifice Marie-Guyart
675, boulevard René-Lévesque Est, 30e étage
Québec (Québec) G1R 5V7

 

Objet : Demande de moratoire sur l’utilisation du larvicide Bti

Monsieur le Ministre,

Il y maintenant plus de 35 ans que nos cours d’eau et nos milieux humides sont aspergés chaque été de Bti, un insecticide encore méconnu causant principalement la mort des larves aquatiques d’insectes piqueurs. Le Bti doit son nom à une bactérie présente naturellement dans les sols. Cette bactérie, une fois ingérée, produit des cristaux microscopiques dans l’intestin des larves et enclenche une réaction toxique menant ultimement à leur mort. Or, cette bactérie ne représente qu’en moyenne 7 % de la formulation commerciale couramment appliquée. Un cocktail de produits dont la recette est protégée par le secret industriel y est combinée pour augmenter son efficacité, comme, par exemple, des agents de protection contre les rayons ultraviolets. On peut alors difficilement qualifier cet insecticide de “biologique”. De plus, contrairement à la plupart des insecticides épandus sur les sols en culture, le Bti est appliqué directement dans nos cours d’eau: l’une de nos plus une richesse que l’on se doit de traiter avec précaution.

Le Bti a ainsi longtemps été considéré comme sans danger pour l’environnement, croyant que son mécanisme d’action était suffisamment complexe et spécifique pour ne cibler que les insectes piqueurs. Or, de récentes études indépendantes ont démontré que le Bti peut affecter directement et de façon importante la taille des populations de chironomides (Allgeier et al. 2019, Kästel et al. 2017). Comme ce groupe d’insectes constitue une source de nourriture de premier choix pour plusieurs oiseaux et amphibiens, la taille et le développement de ces organismes peuvent être affectés (Empey et al. 2021). Une telle perturbation de l’équilibre de la chaîne alimentaire est préoccupante pour l’intégrité de nos écosystèmes aquatiques. Les effets cumulatifs de tous les projets d’épandage n’apparaissent pas suivis ou documentés. Ces préoccupations sont d’ailleurs détaillées dans un document d’orientation produit par votre ministère il y a quelques temps. On y souligne de plus un manque d’études canadiennes au sujet des impacts pour la faune et pour le réseau trophique. Pourtant, plus de 40 municipalités détiennent actuellement des autorisations d’épandage délivrées sur la base d’avis fauniques produits par votre ministère. D’autre part, plusieurs regroupements citoyens ont soulevé d’importantes préoccupations quant à la pertinence de tels épandages et de leurs impacts, accompagnées de différentes études.

Au niveau commercial, l’industrie québécoise de l’épandage de Bti est un duopole constitué de seulement deux entreprises (GDG Environnement et Conseillers forestiers Roy). Ce manque de compétition est potentiellement problématique pour une saine gestion des finances municipales.

Plusieurs alternatives à l’épandage existent pour le contrôle des insectes piqueurs. Celles-ci apparaissent moins dommageables pour nos milieux naturels et nettement moins coûteuses (ex: piège, ail, nichoirs, etc.). De plus, leur portée peut être modulée en ciblant uniquement les espaces habitables, évitant ainsi l’épandage d’une substance biocide dans nos cours d’eau.

Recommandations

  • Un moratoire sur l’émission d’autorisations d’épandage le temps qu’une révision de la position ministérielle soit produite ;
  • la reconnaissance de la prépondérance du principe de précaution devant le constat du déclin des populations d’oiseaux, d’amphibiens et d’insectes sur le territoire québécois en attente de la prochaine politique gouvernementale ;
  • la reconnaissance de l’efficacité et de l’aspect sécuritaire de méthodes de contrôle alternatives afin que les municipalités les plus fortement touchées par la nuisance occasionnée par les insectes piqueurs puissent y recourir ;
  • au MFPP : une révision de la position du MFFP sur le Bti à la lumière des nouvelles connaissances indépendantes acquises à travers le monde au cours des deux dernières décennies et présentées en partie dans le document d’orientation du MFFP produit en 2019 ;
  • au MELCC : une révision de la position du MELCC sur le Bti qui date de 1997, mise à jour en 2004, à la lumière des nouvelles connaissances indépendantes acquises à travers le monde au cours des deux dernières décennies et en collaboration avec le MFFP.

En vous remerciant de l’attention que vous porterez à la présente, nous demeurons disponibles pour tout renseignement supplémentaire.

Veuillez agréer, monsieur le Ministre, l’expression de nos salutations distinguées.

Alain Saladzius, ing., FIC
Président

Faites une différence

Découvrez comment prendre action pour la protection des rivières et cours d’eau du Québec en vous inscrivant à notre infolettre. 

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Roches_Hugo Clement_Unsplash_OS

Faites un don pour protéger les rivières et les cours d'eau du Québec

La Fondation Rivières et une organisation a but non lucrative qui voit à la préservation, la restauration et la mise en valeur du caractère naturel et écologique des rivières.