La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Open letter for equitable access to public water bodies in Quebec

eau générique lac gauthier unsplash

Montreal, August 11, 2022
TRANSMISSION BY EMAIL


Mr. François Legault, Prime Minister of Quebec
Coalition Avenir Québec
1260 Mill Street, Suite 50
Montreal (Quebec) H3K 2B4

Subject: Open letter for equitable access to public water bodies in Quebec

Prime Minister,

It will almost be 20 years since the Quebec government adopted the National Water Policy. At the time, it was a question of responding to ecological and public health issues, while taking into account certain internal and external political factors. This policy was to mark a turning point in the management of water resources and the status of water. This same policy gave a glimpse of a promising future for sport fishing while it stated that “Promoting recreational tourism activities therefore constitutes the fifth orientation of the National Water Policy which is structured around three areas of intervention: expand access to water and encourage the development of recreational fishing in Quebec, promote nautical safety and promote nautical tourism.”

The 2018-2030 Quebec Water Strategy recently took over from this policy. Once again, access to bodies of water is put forward, as evidenced by objective 4 of the said overhaul, worded “Promote access to bodies of water and courses”. Paragraph 4.4.2 goes even further, by directly targeting the deployment of the “[…] Access to water bodies for recreational fishing program”.

Despite what seems to be a firm political will to make access to Quebec's waterways and bodies of water a priority (you actually made this an electoral promise during the last elections), we must admit that this priority remains theoretical to date.


More and more barriers to accessibility

Quebecers are having more and more difficulty accessing the rivers, lakes and rivers of Quebec, even though they are considered our national blue gold. With confinement having reinvigorated Quebecers' enthusiasm for water activities, causing increased traffic to certain small lakes in the region, many municipalities now reserve access to bodies of water in their territory only for their residents. What's more, some municipalities do not hesitate to restrict access to bodies of water in their territory to their own non-riparian citizens.

Municipalities which, for their part, allow access to their launching ramps impose increasingly high rates. It is now difficult to put a boat on a trailer in the water at a rate lower than 50 $ per day, with some municipalities even charging daily rates of around 500 $. A growing number of municipalities no longer offer a daily rate and opt for a seasonal vignette at costs varying from 150 $ to 600 $. Many Quebecers therefore struggle to find launching ramps that suit their budget and, if they succeed, have to travel many kilometers to get there. Low-income families with small boats simply no longer have the means to practice their favorite water activity.


Concrete actions requested from the government

The Collective for equitable access to bodies of water, which brings together the Association of Sports Fishermen of Quebec, the Alliance of the Nautical Industry of Quebec, Canot Kayak Quebec, Eau vive Quebec and Quebec Subaquatique, the Fédération de Voile du Quebec, the Quebec Federation of Hunters and Fishermen, as well as the Fondation Rivières, supported by more than a hundred organizations and businesses in industry and commerce, considers that concrete actions must be put in place in order to rectify the problematic situation of access to the province's water bodies. All of this, obviously respecting the support capacity of the environment, the preservation of natural environments and the fight against invasive exotic aquatic species.

We attempted to enter into a dialogue with several cities and municipalities that have recently changed their regulations regarding access to bodies of water and watercourses in their territory. Unfortunately, municipal officials did not respond to our requests for meetings. On a few occasions already, the Collective has attempted to question various ministers of the Quebec government as well as you, Mr. Prime Minister, on this issue. Once again, our efforts fell on deaf ears.

Unable to note what seems to be the disinterest of cities and municipalities in responding positively to our requests for dialogue, and given the inaction of the Government of Quebec in this matter to date, the Collective for equitable access to the plans of Public water demands, without delay:

  • The imposition of a moratorium on coastal towns and municipalities in Quebec on any change relating to access to public water bodies in Quebec;
  • The establishment of standardized, fair and reasonable cost scales that may be required by municipalities for the use of access infrastructure and boat washing stations;
  • Recognition of the preponderance of the precautionary principle in the face of the decline of public water bodies in Quebec accessible to sport fishermen and other users;
  • Clarification of the position of the Government of Quebec and the Union of Municipalities of Quebec regarding access to public bodies of water in Quebec;
  • The creation of a joint working committee on the subject. This committee could be led by the Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing and the Ministry of Forests, Wildlife and Parks, and supplemented by the Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources, the Ministry of Environment and of the Fight against climate change, the wildlife federations members of the National Wildlife Table and the members of the Collective.

Vision of political parties

Alongside this request for targeted action, and on the eve of the provincial elections on October 3, the Collective asks political parties to clearly indicate to us what their commitments and objectives will be in terms of preserving and developing public access to the St. Lawrence River as well as lakes and rivers throughout Quebec? Could you tell us if you will be able to prioritize this issue which affects a multitude of vacationers in all regions of Quebec and meet the expectations of the Collective?

45 years ago now, Minister Yves Duhaime initiated the great unclubbing, sounding the death knell for private hunting and fishing clubs in Quebec. At that time, the forest was only accessible to rich Americans and company owners, and the rare Quebecers with access to it were, for the majority of them, close to political power. Should Quebecers understand that we are witnessing the return of these clubs?

Unfortunately, the question arises quite legitimately.

Awaiting a return from you, Mr. Prime Minister, we send you our most cordial greetings.

The Collective for equitable access to bodies of water

Information:
Francis Girard
Vice-president of the Quebec Sports Fishermen's Association
1-866-656-2777 ext 3
fgirard@apsq.ca

Photo: Ali Kazal/Unsplash

Labels

Our recent news

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Lettre ouverte pour un accès équitable aux plans d’eau publics du Québec

Montréal, le 11 août 2022
TRANSMISSION PAR COURRIEL


Monsieur François Legault, Premier Ministre du Québec
Coalition Avenir Québec
1260 rue Mill, bureau 50
Montréal (Québec) H3K 2B4

Objet : Lettre ouverte pour un accès équitable aux plans d’eau publics du Québec

Monsieur le Premier Ministre,


Il y a aura bientôt 20 ans que le gouvernement du Québec a adopté la Politique Nationale de l’eau. Il s’agissait à l’époque de répondre aux enjeux écologiques et de santé publique, tout en prenant en compte certains facteurs politiques internes et externes. Cette politique devait marquer un tournant en matière de gestion des ressources en eau et du statut de l’eau. Cette même politique laissait entrevoir un avenir prometteur pour la pêche sportive alors qu’il y est statué que « Favoriser les activités récréotouristiques constitue donc la cinquième orientation de la Politique nationale de l’eau qui s’articule autour de trois axes d’intervention : étendre l’accès à l’eau et favoriser le développement de la pêche récréative au Québec, favoriser la sécurité nautique et promouvoir le tourisme nautique ».

La Stratégie québécoise de l’eau 2018-2030 a récemment pris le relais de cette politique. Encore une fois, l’accès aux plans d’eau est mis de l’avant, tel qu’en témoigne l’objectif 4 de ladite refonte, libellé « Favoriser l’accès aux plans et cours d’eau ». L’alinéa 4.4.2 va encore plus loin, en ciblant directement le déploiement du « […] Programme accès aux plans d’eau pour la pêche récréative ».

Malgré ce qui semble être une ferme volonté politique de faire de l’accès aux cours et plans d’eau du Québec une priorité (vous en avez d’ailleurs fait une promesse électorale lors des dernières élections), force est d’admettre que cette priorité demeure théorique à ce jour.


De plus en plus d’obstacles à l’accessibilité

Les Québécois ont de plus en plus de difficulté à avoir accès au fleuve, aux lacs et aux rivières du Québec, pourtant considérés comme notre or bleu national. Le confinement ayant revigoré l’engouement des Québécois pour les activités nautiques causant un achalandage accru de certains petits lacs en région, de nombreuses municipalités ne réservent maintenant l’accès aux plans d’eau de leur territoire qu’à leurs résidents. Qui plus est, certaines municipalités n’hésitent pas à restreindre l’accès aux plans d’eau de leur territoire à leurs propres citoyens non riverains.

Les municipalités qui, quant à elles, permettent l’accès à leurs rampes de mise à l’eau imposent des tarifs de plus en plus importants. Il est maintenant difficile de mettre une embarcation sur remorque à l’eau à un tarif inférieur à 50 $ par jour, certaines municipalités y allant même de tarifs quotidiens avoisinant les 500 $. Un nombre croissant de municipalités n’offrent plus de tarif quotidien et optent pour une vignette saisonnière à des coûts variant de 150 $ à 600 $. De nombreux Québécois peinent donc à trouver des rampes de mises à l’eau convenant à leur budget et, s’ils y parviennent, doivent parcourir de nombreux kilomètres pour s’y rendre. Les familles à revenu modeste possédant de petites embarcations n’ont tout simplement plus les moyens de pratiquer leur activité nautique favorite.


Des actions concrètes demandées au gouvernement

Le Collectif pour un accès équitable aux plans d’eau, qui regroupe l’Association des pêcheurs sportifs du Québec, l’Alliance de l’Industrie nautique du Québec, Canot Kayak Québec, Eau vive Québec et Québec Subaquatique, la Fédération de Voile du Québec, la Fédération québécoise des chasseurs et des pêcheurs, ainsi que la Fondation Rivières, soutenus par plus d’une centaine d’organismes et d’entreprises de l’industrie et du commerce, considère que des actions concrètes doivent être mises en place afin de redresser la situation problématique de l’accès aux plans d’eau de la province. Le tout, évidemment dans le respect de la capacité de support du milieu, de la préservation des milieux naturels et de la lutte aux espèces aquatiques exotiques envahissantes.

Nous avons tenté d’entreprendre un dialogue avec plusieurs villes et municipalités ayant récemment changé leur réglementation à l’égard de l’accès aux plans et cours d’eau de leur territoire. Malheureusement, les élus municipaux n’ont pas donné suite à nos demandes de rencontres. À quelques reprises déjà, le Collectif a tenté d’interpeller divers ministres du gouvernement du Québec ainsi que vous, Monsieur le premier Ministre, sur cette problématique. Encore une fois, nos efforts sont restés lettre morte.

Ne pouvant que constater ce qui semble être le désintéressement des villes et municipalités à répondre positivement à nos demandes de dialogue, et devant l’inaction du gouvernement du Québec dans ce dossier jusqu’à ce jour, le Collectif pour un accès équitable aux plans d’eau publics réclame, et ce, sans délais :

  • L’imposition d’un moratoire aux villes et municipalités riveraines du Québec sur tout changement relatif à l’accès aux plans d’eau publics du Québec;
  • L’établissement d’échelles de coûts standardisées, équitables et raisonnables pouvant être exigées par les municipalités pour l’utilisation des infrastructures d’accès et des stations de lavage d’embarcations;
  • La reconnaissance de la prépondérance du principe de précaution devant le constat du déclin des plans d’eau publics du Québec accessibles aux pêcheurs sportifs et autres usagers;
  • La clarification de la position du gouvernement du Québec et de l’Union des municipalités du Québec quant à l’accès aux plans d’eau publics du Québec;
  • La création d’un comité de travail conjoint sur le sujet. Ce comité pourrait être dirigé par le ministère des Affaires municipales et de l’habitation et le ministère des Forêts, de la Faune et des Parcs, et complété par le ministère de l’Énergie et des Ressources naturelles, le ministère de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques, les fédérations fauniques membres de la Table nationale de la faune et les membres du Collectif.

Vision des partis politiques

En marge de cette demande d’action ciblée, et à la veille des élections provinciales du 3 octobre prochain, le Collectif demande aux partis politiques de clairement nous indiquer quels seront leurs engagements et leurs objectifs en matière de préservation et de développement des accès publics au fleuve Saint-Laurent ainsi qu’aux lacs et aux rivières de l’ensemble du Québec? Pourriez-vous nous indiquer si vous serez en mesure d’aborder prioritairement ce dossier qui touche une multitude de villégiateurs dans toutes les régions du Québec et de répondre aux attentes du Collectif?

Il y a maintenant 45 ans, le ministre Yves Duhaime amorçait le grand déclubage, sonnant le glas des clubs privés de chasse et de pêche au Québec. À cette époque, la forêt n’était accessible qu’aux riches Américains et propriétaires de compagnies, et les rares Québécois y ayant accès étaient, pour la majorité d’entre eux, proches du pouvoir politique. Les Québécoises et les Québécois doivent-ils comprendre que nous assistons au retour de ces clubs?

Malheureusement, la question se pose en toute légitimité.

Dans l’attente d’un retour de votre part, monsieur le Premier ministre, nous vous transmettons nos plus cordiales salutations.

Le Collectif pour un accès équitable aux plans d’eau

André Bélanger, directeur général de la Fondation Rivières
Stephan Bourgeois, président de l’Association des Pêcheurs Sportifs du Québec
Julie Crépeau-Boisvert, directrice générale d’Eau Vive Québec
Yves Léger, président de la Fédération de voile du Québec
Marie-Christine Lessard, directrice générale de Québec Subaquatique
Pierre Marquis, directeur général de Canot Kayak Qc
Marc-André Loyer, président de l’Alliance de l’industrie nautique du Québec/Nautisme Québec.
Marc Renaud, président de la Fédération québécoise des chasseurs et pêcheurs

Informations :
Francis Girard
Vice-président de l’Association des pêcheurs sportifs du Québec
1-866-656-2777 poste 3
fgirard@apsq.ca

Photo : Ali Kazal/Unsplash

Inscrivez vous à notre infolettre →

Vous aimerez aussi

Thématiques qui pourraient vous intéresser