La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

The Rivière-des-Mille-Îles wildlife refuge is growing: bravo to the committed citizens

The City of Laval announced on January 28, 2021 its wish to expand the Rivière-des-Mille-Îles wildlife refuge, which should see its surface area multiplied by 20. The refuge will thus have nearly double the surface area of Central Park in New York, as we can read in the press release from the city, relayed by The duty. We are talking about 568 hectares, the equivalent of nearly 800 football fields.

Towards a better future for Île Gagnon

This is an important gesture in the protection of this magnificent ecosystem. It is also an extraordinary step forward in the last two years, when citizens did not dream of such an improvement for the wildlife refuge, since they were still fighting for prevent the destruction of Gagnon Island.

There were several of us from Fondation Rivières who participated in August 2020 in the expression on water organized by Thousand Islands Vigil. Bravo for all this work: it is largely thanks to you, committed citizens, that we owe this great victory.

Gagnon Island will not become a wildlife refuge, however, since it is already inhabited. On the other hand, it is a strong signal of a change of perspective in terms of development in Laval. We are moving from a “concrete” approach to one that takes into account the preservation of nature. And very ill-advised will be the contractor who wants to concrete Gagnon Island in the future...

Photo credit: Philippe Oursel

Labels

Our recent news

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informés de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec

Le refuge faunique de la Rivière-des-Mille-Îles grandit : bravo aux citoyens engagés

Rivière des Mille-îles

La Ville de Laval a annoncé le 28 janvier 2021 son souhait d’agrandir le refuge faunique de la Rivière-des-Mille-Îles, qui devrait voir sa superficie multipliée par 20. Le refuge aura ainsi près du double de la superficie de Central Park à New York, comme on peut le lire dans le communiqué de la Ville, relayé par Le Devoir. On parle de 568 hectares, soit l’équivalent de près de 800 terrains de football.

Vers un futur meilleur pour l’île Gagnon

C’est un geste important dans la protection de ce magnifique écosystème. C’est aussi une extraordinaire avancée depuis deux ans, alors que les citoyens ne rêvaient pas d’une telle amélioration pour le refuge faunique, puisqu’ils en étaient encore à se battre pour empêcher la destruction de l’île Gagnon.

Nous étions plusieurs de Fondation Rivières à avoir participé en août 2020 à la manifestation sur l’eau organisée par Vigile Mille-Îles. Bravo pour tout ce travail : c’est en grande partie grâce à vous, citoyens engagés, qu’on doit cette belle victoire.

L’île Gagnon ne deviendra pas un refuge faunique pour autant puisqu’elle est déjà habitée. Par contre, c’est un signal fort d’un changement de perspective en matière de développement à Laval. On passe d’une approche « béton » à une approche qui tient compte de la préservation de la nature. Et bien mal avisé sera l’entrepreneur qui voudra bétonner l’île Gagnon à l’avenir…

Crédit photo : Adèle Beausoleil