La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Bloom Lake: the federal government urged not to rush a decision and to demand an alternative solution to save lakes condemned to becoming mining waste bins

Mine du lac Bloom

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Sept-Îles, Quebec, Montreal – February 21, 2023. Without calling into question the importance of the Bloom Lake mine for the town of Fermont and the Innu communities, eleven regional and national organizations as well as three people from Mani-utenam and Moisie are asking the federal minister of environment Steven Guilbeault not to authorize the destruction of lakes to store mining residues and waste rock in Fermont, as proposed by Ore iron Quebec (MFQ). Instead, they are asking the federal government to require the implementation of an alternative solution that minimizes the environmental footprint by sparing threatened lakes. They also ask that the federal decision be suspended while a request for access to crucial information is processed. This request comes the day before the opening of public consultations of Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC) on the federal assessment of alternatives and the fish habitat compensation plan for the Bloom Lake mine expansion project to be held on February 21 and 23 , respectively in Fermont then in Sept-Îles by offering remote participation. 

The organizations, Laura Fontaine, Marc Fafard and Danielle Descent, condemn that the consultation is looking into the compensatory plan for the possible loss of fish habitat while the Commission of Inquiry of the Bureau d'audiences publique sur l'environnement (BAPE ) estimated two years ago that MFQ could and should develop an alternative solution to avoid the destruction of the lakes.

Together, they call on ECCC not to give in to the developer's economic argument which justifies its plan not to backfill the pit. Any mining project should return its mining waste to the pit, in accordance with the principle enshrined in the Mining Act in section 232.3. 

The Ministry of Natural Resources and Forests (MRNF) has issued an opinion stating that the promoter does not have to establish a long-term mining plan in which the profitability of the mineral potential located under the pit would be demonstrated. This opinion strongly encouraged the Ministry of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change to authorize the destruction of the lakes against the advice of the BAPE. However, the MRNF refuses to reveal the supporting grounds for the opinion it issued, despite a request for access to information sent to it on November 25, 2022 by Fondation Rivières. This information is nevertheless decisive for ECCC and the population consulted to decide on the merits of the alternative solutions and even the compensatory plans proposed by the promoter. Hence the request to suspend ECCC's decision while receiving this information. 

In support of their claim, note:

  • The decision of the Quebec government to sacrifice the lakes was taken against the advice of the BAPE –  In his report, “the commission of inquiry is of the opinion that the initiator has not demonstrated that the solutions adopted for the management of mining waste are those which minimize the impacts on wetlands and water environments […]. Consequently, the commission recommends that the project not be authorized as presented. »
  • No social acceptability for the destruction of lakes and natural environments to store mining waste – A recent Light survey indicates that nearly nine out of 10 people in Quebec (89%) say they are in favor of “prohibiting the discharge of mining waste into any lake, river or sensitive ecological environment”.
  • Thousands of people ask Quebec to reverse its decision and adopt a regulation to prohibit the destruction of lakes by dumping mining waste – To date, 4,212 people have signed a petition asking the government of Quebec to revoke the authorization granted to MFQ to destroy eight lakes to dump its mining waste and to adopt a regulation clearly prohibiting this practice. The petition is an initiative of the Eau Secours organizations and the Coalition Québec Meilleur Mine and remains open for signatures. 

Reminders: 

  • The Bloom Lake iron mine is currently owned by Minerai de Fer Québec, a subsidiary of the Australian multinational Champion Iron. It is a huge open-air iron mine located on the Nitassinan in the administrative region of the Côte-Nord near Fermont. 
  • When it was launched in 2008, the project was supposed to be relatively small. Through decrees and broken promises that there would be no additional expansions, past and present promoters have developed a mega-mine aimed at extracting 16,000,000 tonnes of iron ore per year without proceeding to an overall assessment of the impacts of the project. 
  • Such growth carried out without prior planning or adequate consultation has allowed the developer to now generate hundreds of millions of tonnes of mining waste which now leads him to want to sacrifice eight lakes for storage.
  • The analyzes carried out within the framework of the BAPE demonstrated that the mineral potential that the promoter seeks to preserve has not been quantified in an official technical report. These reserves potential would also come from deposits whose grade is relatively low, compared to the main deposit, and their profitability would be based on unconservative economic forecasts. 

-30-

For information

Marc Fafard, citizen of Moisie, 418-961-3517 

Rébecca Pétrin, Eau Secours, 514-246-9075

André Bélanger, Fondation Rivières, 514-272-2666, ext. 301

Rodrigue Turgeon, Coalition Québec Meilleur Mine and MiningWatch Canada, 819-444-9226 

Signatories

  • Boreal action
  • Quebec Association of Physicians for the Environment (AQME)
  • Environmental education and training research center (UQAM)
  • Quebec Better Look Coalition
  • Danielle Descent, Mani-utenam
  • Emergency Water 
  • Fondation Rivières
  • Laura Fontaine, Innu from Mani-utenam
  • Marc Fafard, citizen of Moisie and spokesperson for Sept-Îles without uranium
  • Mothers at the front 
  • MiningWatch Canada
  • Nature Quebec
  • Manicouagan watershed organization
  • Vigilance Mines Group of Abitibi and Témiscamingue (REVIMAT)
  • Quebec network of environmental groups

Quotes

“With its immense open-air mine on the watershed, we are far from the small, acceptable project that was presented to us in the beginning. Before considering compensation, the federal government must use all its weight to limit the destruction of lakes and the storage of waste in the Moisie River watershed. If this is to be done, the compensation must be local, in the impacted watersheds. This is all the more true since alternative solutions exist and would make it possible to avoid the sole recourse to this compensation, the scope of which will only be limited to net losses of natural environments and will not sufficiently take into account long-term cumulative impacts. term." – Marc Fafard, citizen and spokesperson for uranium-free Sept-Îles

“Faced with the climate emergency and the collapse of biodiversity, governments must prioritize decisions that will have the least impact on water and the environment to avoid passing on the debt of our excesses to future generations” – Rébecca Pétrin, general director of Eau Secours

“The BAPE report is clear and is based on expert opinions. The federal government must take this into account” – André Bélanger, general director of Fondation Rivières

“Before having exhausted all alternative scenarios, it will never be too late to spare the lakes and save the soul of the territory and those of all the people who still believe that saving the planet does not rhyme with destroying it” – Rodrigue Turgeon, spokesperson for the Québec Meilleur Mine coalition and MiningWatch Canada

“The popular will is unanimous, whether expressed in public hearings, by environmental groups, local communities or via national petitions: we do not want our lakes to become mining dumps. » –  Chantal Levert Quebec network of environmental groups

“The plan to sacrifice lakes to maximize the profits of a mining company is not transition, but regression. The old story of uncontrolled environmental destruction in the name of the economy must end now.” – Cyril Frazao, Nature Quebec

“We are no longer in the 19th century. Opening mines and exploiting them to meet the needs of human consumption, while respecting the environment and populations, can still be done. But to forever sacrifice lakes to store mining waste and, at different levels of government, to allow this type of practice worthy of a Western where the law had not yet been written, is simply inconceivable. It’s time to end the “Not In My Pit” syndrome. Champion Iron has the option of backfilling his junk in his own hole: let her do it. » – Henri Jacob, president of Action Boréale

“Reality is critical. We are experiencing a mining boom in Quebec. It is now well demonstrated to what extent the escalation of extractive industrial developments carries multiple negative impacts for the environment and for human health in the short, medium and long term, despite the discourse of contribution to development. We are currently facing a major socio-ecological crisis and extremely serious climatic upheavals which are reaching a point of no return, precisely, among other things, because of this type of industrial development which is constantly increasing. Should we continue to accept these realities as an inevitability to which we have an obligation to find accommodation? Also, is it possible to “compensate” for the destruction of a habitat, a natural environment full of life, rich in biodiversity and which is important for the communities of the region? Can the transformation of a lake, river or other sensitive environment into a toxic waste dump and therefore a source of risks and threats to the health of the environment and the population be compensated? Is this a solution? For who? » – Isabel Orellana, director, Center for research in education relating to the environment and eco-citizenship, UQAM.

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Explore

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed about our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Faites un don
Search
Fermez ce champ de recherche.
La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Faites un don
Search
Fermez ce champ de recherche.

Lac Bloom : le fédéral exhorté à ne pas précipiter de décision et à exiger une solution de rechange pour sauver les lacs condamnés à devenir des poubelles à déchets miniers

Mine du lac Bloom

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE
POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

Sept-Îles, Québec, Montréal – 21 février 2023. Sans remettre en cause l’importance de la mine du Lac Bloom pour la ville de Fermont et les communautés innues, onze organismes régionaux et nationaux ainsi que trois personnes de Mani-utenam et de Moisie demandent d’une même voix au ministre fédéral de l’environnement Steven Guilbeault de ne pas autoriser la destruction des lacs pour stocker des résidus et stériles miniers à Fermont, tel que proposé par Minerai de fer Québec (MFQ). Ils demandent plutôt au gouvernement fédéral d’exiger la mise en place d’une solution de rechange qui minimise l’empreinte environnementale en épargnant les lacs menacés. Ils demandent également que la décision du fédéral soit suspendue le temps qu’une demande d’accès à l’information cruciale soit traitée. Cette demande survient la veille de l’ouverture des consultations publiques d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (ECCC) sur l’évaluation fédérale des solutions de rechange et sur le plan compensatoire de l’habitat du poisson concernant le projet d’agrandissement de la mine du lac Bloom qui se tiendront les 21 et 23 février, respectivement à Fermont puis à Sept-Îles en offrant la participation à distance. 

Les organismes, Laura Fontaine, Marc Fafard et Danielle Descent condamnent que la consultation se penche sur le plan compensatoire sur la perte éventuelle de l’habitat du poisson alors que la Commission d’enquête du Bureau d’audiences publiques sur l’environnement (BAPE) estimait il y a deux ans que MFQ pouvait et devrait développer une solution de rechange permettant d’éviter la destruction des lacs.

Ensemble, ils appellent ECCC à ne pas céder devant l’argument économique du promoteur qui justifie son plan de ne pas remblayer la fosse. Tout projet minier devrait remettre dans la fosse ses déchets miniers, conformément au principe inscrit dans la Loi sur les mines à l’article 232.3. 

Le Ministère des Ressources naturelles et des Forêts (MRNF) a émis un avis statuant que le promoteur n’a pas à établir un plan de minage à long terme dans lequel la rentabilité du potentiel minéral situé sous la fosse serait démontrée. Cet avis a fortement encouragé le Ministère de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les Changements climatiques à autoriser la destruction des lacs contre l’avis du BAPE. Pourtant, le MRNF refuse de dévoiler les fondements justificatifs de l’avis qu’il a émis, et ce, en dépit d’une demande d’accès à l’information lui ayant été adressée le 25 novembre 2022 par Fondation Rivières. Ces informations sont néanmoins déterminantes pour que ECCC et la population consultée se prononcent sur le bien-fondé des solutions de rechange et même des plans compensatoires proposés par le promoteur. D’où la demande de suspendre la décision d’ECCC le temps de recevoir ces informations. 

Au soutien de leur demande, notons :

  • La décision du gouvernement du Québec de sacrifier les lacs a été prise contre l’avis du BAPE –  Dans son rapport, « la commission d’enquête est d’avis que l’initiateur n’a pas fait la démonstration que les solutions retenues pour la gestion des rejets miniers sont celles qui minimisent les impacts sur les milieux humides et hydriques […]. En conséquence, la commission recommande que le projet ne soit pas autorisé tel que présenté. »
  • Pas d’acceptabilité sociale pour la destruction des lacs et milieux naturels pour entreposer des déchets miniers – Un récent sondage Léger indique que près de neuf personnes sur 10 au Québec (89%) se disent en faveur d’« interdire le rejet de déchets miniers dans tout lac, rivière ou milieu écologique sensible ».
  • Des milliers de personnes demandent à Québec de renverser sa décision et d’adopter un règlement pour interdire la destruction de lacs par déversement de déchets miniers – À ce jour, 4212 personnes ont signé une pétition demandant au gouvernement du Québec de révoquer l’autorisation accordée à MFQ de détruire huit lacs pour y déverser ses déchets miniers et d’adopter un règlement interdisant clairement cette pratique. La pétition est une initiative des organismes Eau Secours et de la Coalition Québec meilleure mine et demeure ouverte aux signatures. 

Rappels : 

  • La mine de fer du lac Bloom est l’actuelle propriété de Minerai de Fer Québec, une filiale de la multinationale australienne Champion Iron. Il s’agit d’une immense mine de fer à ciel ouvert située sur le Nitassinan dans la région administrative de la Côte-Nord près de Fermont. 
  • Lors de son lancement en 2008, le projet devait être relativement d’une petite dimension. À coup de décrets et de promesses non tenues qu’il n’y aurait pas d’agrandissements additionnels, les promoteurs passés et actuel ont développé une méga-mine visant l’extraction de 16 000 000 tonnes de minerai de fer par an sans procéder à une évaluation globale des impacts du projet. 
  • Une telle croissance réalisée sans planification ni consultations adéquates préalables a permis au promoteur de générer désormais des centaines de millions de tonnes de déchets miniers qui le poussent maintenant à vouloir sacrifier huit lacs pour les entreposer.
  • Les analyses réalisées dans le cadre du BAPE ont démontré que le potentiel minéral que cherche à préserver le promoteur n’a pas été quantifié dans un rapport technique officiel. Ces réserves potentielles seraient par ailleurs issues de gisements dont la teneur est relativement faible, comparativement au gisement principal, et leur rentabilité s’appuierait sur des prévisions économiques peu conservatrices. 

-30-

Pour information

Marc Fafard, citoyen de Moisie, 418-961-3517 

Rébecca Pétrin, Eau Secours, 514-246-9075

André Bélanger, Fondation Rivières, 514-272-2666, poste 301

Rodrigue Turgeon, Coalition Québec meilleure mine et MiningWatch Canada, 819-444-9226 

Signataires

  • Action boréale
  • Association québécoise des médecins pour l’environnement (AQME)
  • Centre de recherche en éducation et formation relatives à l’environnement (UQAM)
  • Coalition Québec meilleure mine
  • Danielle Descent, Mani-utenam
  • Eau Secours 
  • Fondation Rivières
  • Laura Fontaine, Innue de Mani-utenam
  • Marc Fafard, citoyen de Moisie et porte-parole Sept-Îles sans uranium
  • Mères au front 
  • MiningWatch Canada
  • Nature Québec
  • Organisme de bassin versant Manicouagan
  • Regroupement Vigilance Mines de l’Abitibi et du Témiscamingue (REVIMAT)
  • Réseau québécois des groupes écologistes

Citations

« Avec son immense mine à ciel ouvert sur la ligne de partage des eaux, on est loin du petit projet acceptable qu’on nous présentait dans les débuts. Avant de songer à compenser, le fédéral doit peser de tout son poids pour limiter la destruction des lacs et l’entreposage de déchets dans le bassin versant de la rivière Moisie. Si ça doit se faire, la compensation devra être locale, dans les bassins versants impactés. C’est d’autant plus vrai que des solutions de rechange existent et permettraient d’éviter le seul recours à cette compensation dont la portée ne se limitera qu’aux pertes nettes de milieux naturels et ne tiendra pas suffisamment compte des impacts cumulatifs à long terme.» – Marc Fafard, citoyen et porte-parole de Sept-Îles sans uranium

« Face à l’urgence climatique et l’effondrement de la biodiversité, les gouvernements doivent prioriser les décisions qui auront le moins d’impacts sur l’eau et l’environnement pour éviter de refiler la dette de nos excès aux générations futures » – Rébecca Pétrin, directrice générale d’Eau Secours

« Le rapport du BAPE est clair et il s’appuie sur des avis d’experts. Le gouvernement fédéral doit en tenir compte » – André Bélanger, directeur général de la Fondation Rivières

« Avant d’avoir épuisé tous les scénarios de rechange, il ne sera jamais trop tard pour épargner les lacs et sauver l’âme du territoire et celles de toutes les personnes qui croient encore que sauver la planète ne rime pas avec la détruire » – Rodrigue Turgeon, porte-parole de la coalition Québec meilleure mine et de MiningWatch Canada

« La volonté populaire est unanime, qu’elle soit exprimée en audience publique, par les groupes écologistes, les communautés locales ou via des pétitions nationales : nous ne voulons pas que nos lacs deviennent des dépotoirs miniers. » –  Chantal Levert Réseau québécois des groupes écologistes

« Le plan de sacrifier des lacs pour maximiser les profits d’une compagnie minière, ce n’est pas de la transition, mais de la régression. La vieille histoire de la destruction incontrôlée de l’environnement au nom de l’économie doit finir maintenant.» – Cyril Frazao, Nature Québec

« On n’est plus au XIXe siècle. Ouvrir des mines et les exploiter pour répondre aux besoins de la consommation humaine, dans le respect de l’environnement et des populations, ça peut encore aller. Mais sacrifier à jamais des lacs pour y entreposer des déchets miniers et, aux différents paliers gouvernementaux, permettre ce type de pratiques dignes d’un Western où la loi n’avait pas encore été écrite, c’est tout simplement inconcevable. Il est temps de mettre fin au syndrome du « Pas Dans Ma Fosse ». Champion Iron a l’option de remblayer sa cochonnerie dans son propre trou : qu’elle le fasse. » – Henri Jacob, président de l’Action Boréale

« La réalité est critique. Nous vivons un boom minier au Québec. Il est maintenant bien démontré à quel point l’escalade de développements industriels extractifs sont porteurs d’impacts négatifs multiples pour l’environnement et pour la santé des personnes à court, moyen et long terme, malgré le discours de contribution au développement. Nous faisons actuellement face à une crise socio-écologique majeure et à des bouleversements climatiques extrêmement graves qui arrivent à un point de non-retour, justement entre autres à cause de ce type de développements industriels qui se multiplient sans cesse. Est-ce qu’il faut continuer à accepter ces réalités comme une fatalité face auxquelles nous avons l’obligation de trouver des accommodements ? Aussi, est-il possible de «compenser» la destruction d’un habitat, un milieu naturel plein de vie, riche en biodiversité et qui est important pour les communautés de la région? La transformation d’un lac, d’une rivière ou d’autre milieu sensible en dépotoir de déchets toxiques et par conséquent en source de risques et de menaces à la santé du milieu et de la population peut-elle être compensée? S’agit-il d’une solution ? Pour qui? » – Isabel Orellana, directrice, Centre de recherche en éducation relative à l’environnement et à l’écocitoyenneté, UQAM.

Étiquettes

Nos récents communiqués

Pour aller plus loin

Contribuez à la protection des rivières du Québec

En plus de soutenir notre équipe à protéger les rivières, votre don vous donne droit à un reçu de charité pour vos impôts.

Faites une différence pour l'environnement

Devenez membre de la Fondation en faisant un don. Votre contribution permet à notre équipe de continuer à se mobiliser pour protéger les rivières et cours d’eau du Québec pour les générations futures. 

Vous avez une question ?

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informé de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec