La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Wastewater sanitation: it will take much more than the Blue Fund

OPEN LETTER

On November 26, a few days before the COP 15 on biodiversity, we will mark the 20th anniversary of the National Water Policy.

This should allow us to regain the quality of the water in our lakes and rivers. We are still a long way off, but the good news is that the intensity and number of wastewater spills have shown a decrease over the past five years. Several elected officials and municipal managers reiterated their firm intention to reduce the number of spills and to make all necessary efforts to bring wastewater treatment plants up to standard by the end of 2030, as the government of Quebec with its counterparts in other provinces in 2014.

However, a lot of effort will be needed since our wastewater treatment plants still pollute too much! Talk to residents of Repentigny, Lavaltrie and even Trois-Rivières, who still cannot dip their toes in the St. Lawrence River because the treatment plants in Montreal, Longueuil and Repentigny, among others, discharge water contaminated with E. Coli, due to lack of adequate disinfection mechanisms.

To protect our waterways and their ecosystems, it will be necessary to carry out major and complex modifications to 14 large wastewater treatment plants by 2030 with the addition of disinfection, the increase in treatment capacity and the development of basins. wastewater retention. This is without counting the upgrading of 86 wastewater treatment plants whose discharges of suspended matter and biochemical oxygen demands far exceed the permitted limits. We must also adequately equip dozens of other stations to remove phosphorus, disinfect, reduce overflows and resolve the situation of the 81 municipalities which still discharge water without treatment.

By announcing the creation of blue fund Last August, Prime Minister Legault recalled that his government reserved 7 billion $ over ten years for municipalities so that they can intervene on their drinking water and wastewater systems. However, almost all of this money will be spent on replacing outdated water and sewer pipes and treatment systems. This is what we call, in the jargon, “asset maintenance”. 

The 2022-2032 Quebec Infrastructure Plan only provides for a single billion $ over 10 years, therefore approximately 100 million $ per year, to improve the performance of water treatment systems. This amount is derisory when we know that the implementation of the ozonation disinfection to Montreal will cost at least 700 million $ approximately a third of which will be paid by Quebec. If we take into account the expected contribution from the federal government, at least 4 billion $ are missing from the Quebec plan.

At the time of writing these lines, dozens of municipalities are working hard to assess their financial needs to bring their facilities up to standard. They all know, full well, that there is no money planned either in Quebec or in Ottawa. How can they do their job? 

What will happen on December 31 when Quebec receives the 14 financial requests totaling several billion $ when there is no money planned to cover this work? Will we, once again, postpone the deadlines, just to save time? Or will we settle for a mediocre response to a glaring problem?

The Legault government prides itself on being far-sighted and pragmatic. It must immediately include all the necessary amounts in the Quebec Infrastructure Plan and thus send a clear signal to municipal elected officials who need predictability to integrate investments into their budgets. 

The announcement of the creation of the Blue Fund shows a new government concern for water protection. But what is the point of better characterizing municipal discharges, cleaning the banks, fighting against invasive plants or monitoring the water quality of lakes if we continue to dump our wastewater there without adequate treatment? We must act at the source of the problem now and demonstrate the seriousness of the situation by investing the necessary amounts, meeting the expectations of Quebecers. 

By Alain Saladzius, president of Fondation Rivières

This text was originally published in the Ideas section of The duty

Photo: Jacques Nadeau, Le Devoir

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Faites un don

Assainissement des eaux usées: il faudra beaucoup plus que le Fonds bleu

LETTRE OUVERTE

Le 26 novembre prochain, soit quelques jours avant la tenue de la COP 15 sur la biodiversité, on soulignera les 20 ans de la Politique nationale de l’eau.

Celle-ci devait nous permettre de retrouver la qualité de l’eau de nos lacs et de nos cours d’eau. Nous sommes loin encore du compte, mais, bonne nouvelle, l’intensité et le nombre de déversements d’eaux usées montrent une diminution depuis cinq ans. Plusieurs élus et gestionnaires municipaux ont réitéré leur ferme intention de réduire le nombre de déversements et de faire tous les efforts nécessaires pour mettre aux normes les stations d’épuration d’ici la fin 2030, comme s’est engagé à le faire le gouvernement du Québec auprès de ses homologues des autres provinces en 2014.

Or, des efforts, il en faudra beaucoup puisque nos stations d’épuration polluent encore trop! Parlez-en aux résidents de Repentigny, Lavaltrie et même Trois-Rivières, qui ne peuvent toujours pas se tremper les orteils dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent parce que les stations d’épuration de Montréal, Longueuil et Repentigny, entre autres, rejettent des eaux contaminées aux E. Coli, faute de mécanismes de désinfection adéquats.

Pour protéger nos cours d’eau et leurs écosystèmes, il faudra réaliser des modifications majeures et complexes à 14 grandes stations d’épuration d’ici 2030 avec l’ajout de désinfection, l’augmentation de capacités de traitement et l’aménagement de bassins de rétention des eaux usées. C’est sans compter la mise aux normes de 86 stations d’épuration dont les rejets de matières en suspension et les demandes biochimiques en oxygène dépassent largement les limites permises. Il faut aussi équiper adéquatement des dizaines d’autres stations pour enlever le phosphore, désinfecter, réduire les débordements et régler le cas des 81 municipalités qui rejettent encore des eaux sans traitement.

En annonçant la création du Fonds bleu en août dernier, le premier ministre Legault avait rappelé que son gouvernement a réservé 7 milliards $ sur dix ans pour les municipalités afin qu’elles puissent intervenir sur leurs systèmes d’eau potable et d’eaux usées.  Or, presque toute cette somme sera consacrée au remplacement de conduites d’aqueduc et d’égouts et de systèmes de traitement vétustes. C’est ce qu’on appelle, dans le jargon, le « maintien d’actifs ». 

Le Plan québécois d’infrastructures 2022-2032 ne prévoit qu’un seul milliard $ sur 10 ans, donc environ 100 millions $ par année, pour améliorer la performance des systèmes de traitement d’eau. Ce montant est dérisoire quand on sait que l’implantation de la désinfection par ozonation à Montréal coûtera au bas mot 700 millions $ dont environ le tiers sera payé par Québec. Si on tient compte de la contribution attendue du gouvernement fédéral, ce sont au moins 4 milliards $ qui manquent au plan québécois.

Au moment d’écrire ces lignes, des dizaines de municipalités s’échinent à évaluer leurs besoins financiers pour la mise aux normes de leurs installations. Elles savent toutes, pertinemment, qu’il n’y a pas d’argent prévu ni à Québec ni à Ottawa. Comment peuvent-elles faire leur travail? 

Que se passera-t-il le 31 décembre lorsque Québec recevra les 14 demandes financières totalisant plusieurs milliards $ alors qu’il n’y a pas d’argent prévu pour couvrir ces travaux? Va-t-on, encore une fois, reporter les échéances, histoire de gagner du temps? Ou va-t-on se contenter d’une réponse médiocre à un problème criant?

Le gouvernement Legault se targue d’être prévoyant et pragmatique. Il doit inscrire immédiatement toutes les sommes nécessaires au Plan québécois des infrastructures et ainsi lancer un signal clair aux élus municipaux qui ont besoin de prévisibilité pour intégrer les investissements dans leurs budgets. 

L’annonce de la création du Fonds bleu montre une nouvelle préoccupation gouvernementale pour la protection de l’eau. Mais à quoi bon mieux caractériser les rejets municipaux, nettoyer les berges, lutter contre les plantes envahissantes ou surveiller la qualité de l’eau des lacs si on continue à y déverser nos eaux usées sans traitement adéquat? Il faut agir à la source du problème dès maintenant et démontrer tout le sérieux porté à la situation en y investissant les montants nécessaires, à la hauteur des attentes des Québécois et Québécoises. 

Par Alain Saladzius, président de Fondation Rivières

Ce texte est initialement publié dans la section Idées de Le Devoir

Photo : Jacques Nadeau, Le Devoir

Faites une différence

Découvrez comment prendre action pour la protection des rivières et cours d’eau du Québec en vous inscrivant à notre infolettre. 

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Roches_Hugo Clement_Unsplash_OS

Faites un don pour protéger les rivières et les cours d'eau du Québec

La Fondation Rivières et une organisation a but non lucrative qui voit à la préservation, la restauration et la mise en valeur du caractère naturel et écologique des rivières.