La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Hydro-Québec would not need the power of the Bécancour power station

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montreal, September 9, 2016 – Analysis of Association of Environmental Energy Organizations (ROEE) – of which Fondation Rivières is a part – evidence from Hydro-Québec in the annual rate file currently in progress at the Régie de l'énergie reveals a drastic reversal in the state company's assessment of power needs. Hydro-Québec would need, today, 945 MW less than what it had planned when it was trying to have its agreements with TransCanada Energy and Gaz Métro approved. In fact, for the year 2016-2017, Hydro-Québec expected to need 38,575 MW in 2015, while in 2016, it ultimately plans to only need 37,630 MW. The TransCanada thermal power station in Bécancour was to be used and produce 325 MW during the winter of 2016-2017 and 570 MW in the following years. ROEE notes that this expense would have been unnecessary, at least this winter and perhaps also in subsequent years, since the company's power balance is sufficient to meet demand.

This revision in the forecast of power needs is worrying since again this summer, before the Bureau d'audiences publique sur l'environnement (BAPE), representatives of Hydro-Québec proclaimed loud and clear that they absolutely needed the power resulting from the new contract proposed by the company to spend the next winter. However, a few weeks later, we learned that this was not the case.

Fortunately, due to the ROEE's challenge to the authorization of Hydro-Québec's new contract with TransCanada, Hydro-Québec's customers in its distribution activities will save several tens of millions of additional dollars in fixed costs to keep the power plant closed during peak periods. Remember that Hydro-Québec customers have unnecessarily paid hundreds of millions of dollars in penalties to TransCanada since 2008 for the non-delivery of superfluous baseload energy and will continue to pay around 135 M$ annually until 2026 for keep the Bécancour thermal power station closed for basic energy.

Let us also recall that at the request of the ROEE, the Régie de l'énergie recently revised its decision which authorized the mutual agreement between Hydro-Québec and TransCanada for the operation until 2036 of the Bécancour thermal power station. during peak periods since it was a new supply contracted without a prior call for tender process. According to the ROEE, it is essential that the requirement for a public tender process provided for by the National Assembly be respected in order to ensure consideration on an equal basis of all available sources of supply.

Hydro-Québec has several alternatives to this polluting power plant, including demand management measures, calls to the public in extreme cold, the 500 MW available under an exchange with Ontario and new energy storage technology. electricity on a large scale. According to the ROEE, Quebecers should be more concerned about the consequences of Hydro-Québec's planning on electricity rates. Not only can failures in this area cost them dearly, but they also risk having negative impacts on the environment.

Thanks to ROEE's recent interventions before the Régie de l'énergie, millions of additional dollars were not wasted on adapting the Bécancour power station to peak power production and maintaining unnecessary deliveries until in 2036, i.e. 10 years more than under the original contract linking Hydro-Québec to TransCanada.

-30-

For informations :

Alain Saladzius
President
514 924-2013
presidency@fondationrivieres.org

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Hydro-Québec n’aurait pas besoin de la puissance de la centrale de Bécancour

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE
POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

Montréal, 9 septembre 2016 – L’analyse du Regroupement des organismes environnementaux en énergie (ROEÉ) – dont fait partie la Fondation Rivières – de la preuve d’Hydro-Québec dans le dossier tarifaire annuel en cours à la Régie de l’énergie révèle un revirement drastique de l’évaluation par la société d’État des besoins en puissance. Hydro-Québec aurait besoin, aujourd’hui, de 945 MW de moins que ce qu’elle avait prévu alors qu’elle tentait de faire approuver ses ententes avec TransCanada Energy et Gaz Métro. En effet, pour l’année 2016-2017, Hydro-Québec prévoyait en 2015 nécessiter 38 575 MW, alors qu’en 2016, elle prévoit finalement n’avoir besoin que de 37 630 MW. La centrale thermique de TransCanada à Bécancour devait être mise à contribution et produire 325 MW durant l’hiver 2016-2017 et 570 MW les années suivantes. Le ROEÉ constate que cette dépense aurait été inutile, à tout le moins cet hiver et peut-être aussi les années suivantes, puisque le bilan en puissance de l’entreprise est suffisant pour répondre à la demande.

Cette révision dans la prévision des besoins en puissance est inquiétante puisqu’encore cet été, devant le Bureau d’audiences publiques sur l’environnement (BAPE), les représentants d’Hydro-Québec clamaient haut et fort qu’ils avaient absolument besoin de la puissance découlant du nouveau contrat proposé par l’entreprise pour passer l’hiver prochain. Or, quelques semaines plus tard, nous apprenons qu’il n’en est rien.

Heureusement, en raison de la contestation par le ROEÉ de l’autorisation du nouveau contrat d’HydroQuébec avec TransCanada, les clients d’Hydro-Québec dans ses activités de distribution épargneront plusieurs dizaines de millions de dollars additionnels en frais fixes pour garder la centrale fermée en périodes de pointe. Rappelons que les clients d’Hydro-Québec ont payé inutilement depuis 2008 des centaines de millions de dollars en pénalités à TransCanada pour la non-livraison d’énergie de base superflue et continueront de payer encore jusqu’en 2026 autour de 135 M$ annuellement pour garder fermée la centrale thermique de Bécancour en énergie de base.

Rappelons également qu’à la demande du ROEÉ, la Régie de l’énergie a récemment révisé sa décision qui autorisait l’entente de gré à gré entre Hydro-Québec et TransCanada pour l’opération jusqu’en 2036 de la centrale thermique de Bécancour en périodes de pointe puisqu’il s’agissait d’un nouvel approvisionnement souscrit sans processus d’appel d’offres préalable. Selon le ROEÉ, il est essentiel que l’exigence d‘un processus public d’appel d’offres prévue par l’Assemblée nationale soit respectée afin d’assurer la considération sur une base égalitaire de toutes les sources d’approvisionnement disponibles.

Hydro-Québec dispose de plusieurs alternatives à cette centrale polluante, dont des mesures de gestion de la demande, les appels au public par grand froid, les 500 MW disponibles en vertu d’un échange avec l’Ontario et la nouvelle technologie de stockage d’électricité à grande échelle. Selon le ROEÉ, les Québécois devraient se préoccuper davantage des conséquences de la planification d’Hydro-Québec sur les tarifs d’électricité. Non seulement les ratés à ce chapitre peuvent leur coûter très cher, mais en plus, risquent d’entraîner des impacts négatifs pour l’environnement.

Grâce aux interventions récentes du ROEÉ devant la Régie de l’énergie, des millions de dollars additionnels n’ont pas été gaspillés pour l’adaptation de la centrale de Bécancour à la production de puissance à la pointe et pour maintenir des livraisons inutiles jusqu’en 2036, soit 10 ans de plus qu’en vertu du contrat d’origine liant Hydro-Québec à TransCanada.

-30-

Pour informations :

Alain Saladzius
Président
514 924-2013
presidence@fondationrivieres.org

Inscrivez vous à notre infolettre →

Vous aimerez aussi

Thématiques qui pourraient vous intéresser