Donate
Search
Close this search box.
La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Hydro-Québec is betting everything on wind power: Minister Fitzgibbon's epiphany

Éoliennes - Ecrinn- Burgazli - Unsplash

Victory: Hydro-Québec will close the door to any hydroelectric production project in its next call for tenders

This call for tenders will make it possible to increase electricity production by 4,000 MW or 10 % during the winter peak period and it will come from wind energy only. All other sectors such as small hydroelectric plants, biomass or solar power have been abandoned for the moment.

Our wish granted

This was announced on December 19 by the Minister of the Economy, Innovation and Energy, Pierre Fitzgibbon. And this is exactly what we had defended three days earlier in front of the Energy Authority through our partner, the Grouping of Environmental Energy Organizations (ROEE).

Minister Fitzgibbon therefore had his epiphany (it's in season...) and he took note of what all experts have been repeating for several years: the wind potential in Quebec is immense and inexpensive compared to hydroelectricity. It is first of all through this means that we will be able to achieve our carbon neutrality objectives for 2050.

Better: the minister asked Hydro-Québec to coordinate the establishment of future wind farms in areas where it will be possible to connect them to the Hydro-Québec transmission network more quickly and at reasonable costs. This is what we recommended in our brief submitted to the BAPE during the study of the La Romaine project in… 2009!

Rivière la Romaine Barrage - Alliance Romaine - Crédit le Nord Cotier - Hydroélectricité
La Romaine - Photo credit: Le Nord-Côtier

Basically, Hydro-Québec will have to map the territory and identify the areas most suitable for installing wind turbines. This will be an opportunity for us to demand that environmental criteria be included such as the areas to be deforested, the quality of these woodlands, the biodiversity of coveted places, the length of access roads, the protection of landscapes and the distance from residences. Environmental and social acceptability go hand in hand: this is what we defended before the Energy Authority and this is what we will defend in 2023.

This government decision allows us to obtain a short-term reprieve, but we have not won the battle. Against and against the advice of all experts, Prime Minister Legault is still convinced that dams will have to be built to meet the demand for electricity. And energy sobriety is still not seriously put forward.

With your help, we will do everything to make him listen to reason. 

Labels

Our recent news

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Faites un don

Hydro-Québec mise tout sur l’éolien : l’épiphanie du ministre Fitzgibbon

Éoliennes - Ecrinn- Burgazli - Unsplash

Victoire : Hydro-Québec fermera la porte à tout projet de production hydroélectrique dans son prochain appel d’offres

Cet appel d’offres permettra d’augmenter de 4 000 MW ou 10 % la production d’électricité en période de pointe hivernale et il proviendra d’énergie éolienne seulement. Toutes les autres filières comme les petites centrales hydroélectriques, la biomasse ou le solaire sont abandonnées pour l’instant.

Notre souhait exaucé

C’est ce qu’annonçait le 19 décembre le ministre de l’Économie, de l’Innovation et de l’Énergie, Pierre Fitzgibbon. Et c’est exactement ce que nous avions défendu trois jours plus tôt devant la Régie de l’énergie par le biais de notre partenaire, le Regroupement des organismes environnementaux en énergie (ROEÉ).

Le ministre Fitzgibbon a donc eu son épiphanie (c’est de saison…) et il a pris acte de ce que tous les expert.e.s répètent depuis plusieurs années : le potentiel éolien au Québec est immense et peu coûteux comparativement à l’hydroélectricité. C’est d’abord par ce biais qu’on pourra atteindre nos objectifs de carboneutralité pour 2050.

Mieux : le ministre a demandé à Hydro-Québec de coordonner l’implantation des prochains parcs éoliens dans des zones où il sera possible de les raccorder au réseau de transport d’Hydro-Québec plus rapidement et à des coûts raisonnables. C’est ce que nous recommandions dans notre mémoire déposé au BAPE lors de l’étude du projet La Romaine en… 2009!

Rivière la Romaine Barrage - Alliance Romaine - Crédit le Nord Cotier - Hydroélectricité
La Romaine - Crédit photo : Le Nord-Côtier

En gros, Hydro-Québec devra cartographier le territoire et identifier les zones les plus propices à l’installation des éoliennes. Ce sera l’occasion pour nous d’exiger qu’on y intègre des critères environnementaux comme les surfaces à déboiser, la qualité de ces boisés, la biodiversité des lieux convoités, la longueur des chemins d’accès, la protection des paysages et la distance des résidences. Acceptabilité environnementale et sociale vont de pair : c’est ce que nous avons défendu devant la Régie de l’énergie et c’est ce que nous allons défendre en 2023.

Cette décision gouvernementale nous permet d’obtenir un sursis à court terme, mais nous n’avons pas gagné la bataille pour autant. Envers et contre l’avis de tous les expert.e.s, le premier ministre Legault est encore convaincu qu’il faudra construire des barrages pour répondre à la demande d’électricité. Et la sobriété énergétique n’est toujours pas encore sérieusement mise de l’avant.

Avec votre aide, nous allons tout faire pour lui faire entendre raison. 

Faites une différence

Découvrez comment prendre action pour la protection des rivières et cours d’eau du Québec en vous inscrivant à notre infolettre. 

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Suivi qualité de l'eau et dépistage dans la rivière du Nord (2021)

Faites un don pour protéger les rivières et les cours d'eau du Québec

La Fondation Rivières et une organisation a but non lucrative qui voit à la préservation, la restauration et la mise en valeur du caractère naturel et écologique des rivières.