Donate
Search
Close this search box.
La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Excluded from the Water Action Forum: Fondation Rivières launches a first challenge to committee members

Rivière Richelieu Hiver

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montreal, March 15, 2021 – On February 18, 2021, the Minister of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change, Mr. Benoit Charette, made public the composition of the new Water Action Forum. Remember that this new instance was created to replace the Quebec Water Council announced by the Liberal government in 2018, a committee on which the Fondation Rivières was invited to sit as a citizen organization. Now that the citizen voice no longer has its place within the Water Action Forum, the Fondation Rivières is launching a first challenge to all the members of the committee who will meet for the first time on Tuesday March 16, 2021:     

“Ensure that green infrastructure works are fully recognized and financed”

All water management experts agree on the importance of investing in green infrastructure to better manage stormwater. These infrastructures constitute a leading solution to the approximately 60,000 annual spills of untreated wastewater in Quebec, while allowing, among other things, to avoid pollution carried to waterways by contaminated rainwater and to recharge the water table. Green infrastructures can be built using proven techniques which are also carefully described in the Stormwater Management Guide produced 10 years ago by the Ministry of the Environment.

However, the three main government funding tools for such infrastructure do not recognize this type of project. The permitted work only targets usual constructions (sewers, aqueduct, treatment systems), both for the program Excise tax on gasoline and Quebec contribution (TECQ) with an envelope of 3.4 G$, that the Municipal Water Infrastructure Fund (FIMEAU) with 1.5 G$ and that the Municipal water infrastructure program (PRIMEAU) with 773 M$. Municipalities are therefore deprived of funding to make the best choices to improve the management of their stormwater. Remember that the intensity of rain events increases with climate change. However, green infrastructure is proven and recognized, just as much as traditional approaches. 

These shortcomings were addressed in December 2020 to Ms. Catherine McKenna, Minister responsible for Infrastructure and Communities in the federal government for green infrastructure, since the federal government is now the main financial contributor to infrastructure work. During the announcement of 280 projects selected in the FIMEAU grant program on August 20, 2020, Ms. McKenna referred extensively to the concept of green infrastructure while none of the projects selected included such developments. In as a response, the minister essentially recalled that Quebec is responsible for submitting projects that fit with the aforementioned benefits in light of its needs and the priorities set out in particular in the Quebec Infrastructure Plan. »

The Fondation Rivières therefore called on the Quebec Ministers of Municipal Affairs and Housing (MAMH) of Quebec, Ms. Andrée Laforest and the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change (MELCC), Mr. Benoit Charette, so that the rules can be changed to immediately fully recognize green infrastructure. It is also engineers and other specialist professionals from these two ministries who produced the design guide for the works and the same ministries which finance the organizations to promote it! 

The president of Fondation Rivières, Mr. Alain Saladzius, indicates that “ our request to Quebec ministers does not require any budgetary addition. It is simply a matter of immediately allowing the construction of green infrastructure, as well as the installation of storm sewer pipes, in the TECQ 2019-2023 and FIMEAU 2022 programming. In the absence of having obtained a response from the ministers to our letters, we submit the file to each member of the Water Action Forum so that the file can finally be resolved. We are convinced that representatives of the municipal world, the environment and scientists will pay all the necessary attention to this issue, and that finally municipalities will no longer have to rule out better choices, for the benefit of all. ".

About Fondation Rivières

Since its creation on November 26, 2002, Fondation Rivières has seen to the preservation, restoration and enhancement of the natural and ecological character of rivers, as well as the quality of the water. This mission is environmental, but also social and educational.

- 30 -

For informations :

Geneviève Tardy
Communications Manager
514 424-3556

Photo: Gilles Croteau

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

csm_hand-1527793_492406ca85

Exclue du Forum d’action sur l’eau : La Fondation Rivières lance un 1er défi aux membres du comité

Le 18 février 2021, le ministre de l’Environnement et la Lutte aux changements climatiques, M. Benoit Charette a rendu publique la composition du nouveau Forum d’action sur l’eau. Rappelons que cette nouvelle instance a été créée en remplacement du Conseil québécois de l’eau annoncé par le gouvernement libéral en 2018, comité sur lequel la Fondation Rivières avait été invitée à siéger à titre d’organisme citoyen. Maintenant que la voix citoyenne n’a plus sa place au sein du Forum d’action sur l’eau, la Fondation Rivières lance un premier défi à l’ensemble des membres du comité qui se réuniront pour la première fois mardi le 16 mars 2021 :     

« Faire en sorte que les travaux d’infrastructures vertes soient pleinement reconnus et financés »

Tous les experts dans la gestion des eaux s’entendent sur l’importance d’investir dans les infrastructures vertes pour mieux gérer les eaux pluviales. Ces infrastructures constituent une solution de premier plan aux quelque 60 000 déversements annuels d’eaux usées non-traitées au Québec, tout en permettant, entre autres, d’éviter la pollution acheminée aux cours d’eau par les eaux pluviales contaminées et de recharger la nappe phréatique. Des infrastructures vertes peuvent être réalisées selon des techniques éprouvées qui sont d’ailleurs minutieusement décrites dans le Guide de gestion des eaux pluviales produit il y a 10 ans par le ministère de l’Environnement.

Or, les trois principaux outils de financement gouvernementaux pour de telles infrastructures ne reconnaissent pas ce type de projets. Les travaux permis ciblent uniquement les constructions habituelles (égouts, aqueduc, systèmes de traitement), tant pour le programme Taxe d’accise sur l’essence et de la contribution du Québec (TECQ) avec une enveloppe de 3,4 G$, que le Fonds pour l’infrastructure municipale d’eau (FIMEAU) avec 1,5 G$ et que le Programme d’infrastructures municipales d’eau (PRIMEAU) avec 773 M$. Les municipalités se voient donc privées de financement pour faire les meilleurs choix afin d’améliorer la gestion de leurs eaux pluviales. Rappelons que l’intensité des événements de pluie augmente avec les changements climatiques. Pourtant les infrastructures vertes sont éprouvées et reconnues, tout autant que les approches traditionnelles. 

Ces lacunes ont été adressées en décembre 2020 à Mme Catherine McKenna, ministre responsable de l’Infrastructure et des Collectivités au gouvernement fédéral en matière d’infrastructures vertes, puisque le fédéral est maintenant le principal contributeur financier aux travaux d’infrastructures. Lors de l’annonce de 280 projets retenus dans programme de subventions FIMEAU le 20 août 2020, Mme McKenna a référé abondamment au concept d’infrastructures vertes alors qu’aucun des projets retenus n’incluait de tels aménagements. En guise de réponse, la ministre a essentiellement rappelé que « le Québec est responsable de soumettre les projets qui cadrent avec les retombées susmentionnées à la lumière de ses besoins et des priorités énoncées notamment dans le Plan québécois des infrastructures. »

La Fondation Rivières a donc interpellé les ministres québécois des Affaires municipales et de l’Habitation (MAMH) du Québec, Mme Andrée Laforest et de l’Environnement et de la Lutte aux changements climatiques (MELCC), M. Benoit Charette, pour que soient modifiées les règles afin de pleinement reconnaître immédiatement les infrastructures vertes. Ce sont d’ailleurs des ingénieurs et autres professionnels spécialistes de ces deux ministères qui ont produit le guide de conception des ouvrages et les mêmes ministères qui financent les organismes pour en faire la promotion ! 

Le président de la Fondation Rivières, M. Alain Saladzius, indique que « notre demande aux ministres québécois ne requiert aucun ajout budgétaire. Il s’agit simplement de permettre immédiatement la réalisation d’infrastructures vertes, tout autant que la pose de tuyaux d’égouts pluviaux, et ce dans la programmation TECQ 2019-2023 et FIMEAU 2022. Faute d’avoir obtenu réponse des ministres à nos lettres, nous soumettons le dossier à chacun des membres du Forum d’action sur l’eau afin que le dossier y soit enfin réglé. Nous sommes convaincus que les représentants du monde municipal, de l’environnement et des scientifiques porteront toute l’attention nécessaire à ce dossier, et qu’enfin les municipalités n’auront plus à écarter de meilleurs choix, au bénéfice de tous. ».

Mission de la Fondation Rivières

Depuis sa création le 26 novembre 2002, la Fondation Rivières voit à la préservation, la restauration et la mise en valeur du caractère naturel et écologique des rivières, tout autant que de la qualité de l’eau. Cette mission est d’ordre environnemental, mais aussi social et éducatif.

Comments are closed.