La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Blue Fund: still a long way to go to protect lakes and rivers

Eau Calme_Jason-An_Unsplash_Devenez-Partenaire_Notre-Équipe_OS

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montreal, August 23, 2022 – Fondation Rivières and Eau Secours cautiously welcome the electoral promise of the creation of a Blue Fund made by the Minister of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change (MELCC), Benoit Charette, and Prime Minister François Legault. The organizations are delighted that the very first environmental commitment of the Coalition Avenir Québec (CAQ) concerns the protection and quality of lakes and rivers, but are concerned that these promises are not associated with measurable objectives and to strengthening the MELCC’s capacity to enforce its regulations. 

Targets and the means to achieve them 

The CAQ plans seven new initiatives to improve the quality of Quebec's rivers and lakes, but does not provide any concrete targets for each of them. This funding aims, among other things, to help farmers revegetate riparian areas and to help citizens install septic tanks. What proportion will be assumed by the State? And aren't we ignoring the polluter pays principle by passing the bill on to taxpayers? 

“These new expenses add responsibilities to the MELCC, but will the latter have the resources to enforce them? What proportion of these amounts will be allocated to hiring resources, expertise and inspectors to enforce the regulations? », asks André Bélanger, general manager of Fondation Rivières. 

This new spending program is not accompanied by an action plan and clear and quantified indicators. Such weaknesses in water resource conservation had been severely criticized in June 2020 by the Commissioner for Sustainable Development. The program provides funding for research into preventing water shortages, but it is insufficient. 

“We need more transparency on water use as well as increased resources at the MELCC if we want to be able to establish our water needs and avoid water shortages in the future. To achieve equitable sharing of the resource, the quantities of water taken must be made public,” comments Rébecca Pétrin, general director of Eau Secours.

About Fondation Rivières 

For 20 years, Fondation Rivières has worked to preserve, restore and enhance the natural character of rivers and contributes to ensuring water quality and access to water for the Quebec population.

About Eau Secours

Eau Secours, a non-profit organization founded in 1997, has the mission of promoting the protection and responsible management of water from a perspective of environmental health, equity, accessibility and collective defense of human rights. population.

-30-

Documents: 

Proposals in terms of water management and governance, as part of the Vire au Vert operation: https://www.vireauvert.org/propositions_environnementales 

Source :

Sophie Lachance
Communications and Mobilization Leader
Fondation Rivières
514-272-2666, ext. 307
communications@fondationrivieres.org

Mathieu Langlois
Communications and Mobilization Manager
Emergency Water
514 588-5608
communications@eausecours.org 

Photo: Jason An/Unsplash

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Fonds bleu : encore du chemin à faire pour protéger les lacs et rivières

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE
POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

Montréal, le 23 août 2022 – Fondation Rivières et Eau Secours accueillent avec circonspection la promesse électorale de la création d’un Fonds bleu faite par le ministre de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques (MELCC), Benoit Charette, et le premier ministre François Legault. Les organisations se réjouissent que le tout premier engagement en matière d’environnement de la Coalition Avenir Québec (CAQ) porte sur la protection et la qualité des lacs et rivières, mais s’inquiètent que ces promesses ne soient pas associées à des objectifs mesurables et à un renforcement des capacités du MELCC à faire appliquer ses règlements. 

Des cibles et des moyens pour les atteindre 

La CAQ prévoit sept nouvelles initiatives pour améliorer la qualité des rivières et des lacs du Québec, mais ne prévoit aucune cible concrète pour chacune d’elles. Ce financement vise, entre autres, à aider les agriculteurs à revégétaliser des bandes riveraines et à aider des citoyens à installer des fosses septiques. Quelle proportion sera assumée par l’État? Et ne fait-on pas fi du principe du pollueur-payeur en refilant la facture aux contribuables? 

« Ces nouvelles dépenses ajoutent des responsabilités au MELCC, mais ce dernier aura-t-il les ressources pour les faire appliquer? Quelle proportion de ces sommes va être allouée à l’embauche de ressources, d’expertise et d’inspecteurs pour faire appliquer les règlements? », s’interroge André Bélanger, directeur général de Fondation Rivières. 

Ce nouveau programme de dépenses ne s’accompagne pas d’un plan d’action et d’indicateurs clairs et chiffrés. De telles faiblesses en matière de conservation des ressources en eau avaient été sévèrement critiquées en juin 2020 par le commissaire au développement durable. Le programme prévoit un financement pour de la recherche sur la prévention des pénuries d’eau, mais c’est insuffisant. 

« Il faut plus de transparence sur l’utilisation de l’eau ainsi que des ressources accrues au MELCC si on veut être en mesure d’établir nos besoins en eau et éviter des pénuries d’eau à l’avenir. Pour en arriver à partager la ressource équitablement, il faut que les quantités d’eau prélevées soient rendues publiques », commente Rébecca Pétrin, directrice générale d’Eau Secours.

À propos de Fondation Rivières 

Depuis 20 ans, Fondation Rivières œuvre à préserver, restaurer et mettre en valeur le caractère naturel des rivières et contribue à assurer la qualité de l’eau et l’accès à l’eau pour la population québécoise.

À propos d’Eau Secours

Eau Secours, un organisme à but non lucratif fondé en 1997, a pour mission de promouvoir la protection et la gestion responsable de l’eau dans une perspective de santé environnementale, d’équité, d’accessibilité et de défense collective des droits de la population.

-30-

Documentation : 

Propositions en matière de gestion de l’eau et de gouvernance, dans le cadre de l’opération Vire au Vert : https://www.vireauvert.org/propositions_environnementales 

Source :

Sophie Lachance
Chargée aux communications et à la mobilisation
Fondation Rivières
514-272-2666, poste 307
communications@fondationrivieres.org

Mathieu Langlois
Responsable des communications et de la mobilisation
Eau Secours
514 588-5608
communications@eausecours.org 

Photo : Jason An/Unsplash

Inscrivez vous à notre infolettre →

Vous aimerez aussi

Thématiques qui pourraient vous intéresser