La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Battery and contaminated water sector: Citizens begin independent environmental monitoring of the NMG-Pallinghurst mining company

Site minier NMG-Pallinghurst (Mai 2022, crédit COPH)

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Thursday June 16, 2022, Montreal/Saint-Michel-des-Saints – Citizens supported by environmental organizations announce the start of independent environmental monitoring of the Matawinie project of the mining company Nouveau Monde Graphite (NMG-Pallinghurst), which targets the battery market. They made this announcement while participating in the company's annual shareholder meeting today.

“To our knowledge, this is the first time that citizens have decided to take it upon themselves to do their own sampling of water quality and aquatic ecosystems around a mining site in Quebec,” says Rodrigue Turgeon of MiningWatch. Canada and co-spokesperson for the Coalition Québec Meilleur Mine.

“On the ground, we are seeing more and more deforestation and infrastructure that retains contaminated water of which we know neither the composition nor the origin,” underlines Paul Comeau of the Citizen Coalition opposed to a mining project in Haute-Normandie. Matawinie (COPH). “This concerns us greatly because we do not see any water treatment plant and all the water from the mining site eventually flows towards the village and the Lac Taureau Regional Park. There are also domestic wells around.”

Exasperated by the self-monitoring system of mining companies in Quebec and by the absence of independent inspectors on the ground, citizens decided to take water and sediment samples themselves in half a dozen courses of water since October 2021. The results of these samples will be made public later this year in a report prepared by the Society to Conquer Pollution (SVP), in collaboration with MiningWatch Canada and the Coalition Québec Meilleur Mine. Citizens also reveal previously unseen photos of the mining site taken in May 2022:

Quebec questioned and requests for access to information

“It’s not normal that simple citizens like us have to take samples to check the quality of our environment,” says Daniel Tokatéloff of the Association for the Protection of Lake Taureau (APLT). “The Ministry of the Environment must play its role as watchdog of the public interest. And the mining company that says it wants to produce “green” graphite for “green” batteries must be much more transparent with its environmental data.”

Rébecca Pétrin of Eau Secours adds: “Nearly 18 months (539 days) after receiving its authorization decree, the mining company has still not responded to several of the environmental conditions that were nevertheless required by the government, including a program monitoring and more in-depth studies on the risks of water contamination linked to the management of mining waste”.

Yesterday, the organizations sent a series of requests for access to information as well as a letter to Mr. Benoit Charette, Minister of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change (MELCC), demanding greater transparency and monitoring of the NMG-Pallinghurst mining site. More specifically, the organizations are requesting follow-ups regarding six of the conditions issued in the government decree in January 2021 aimed at water protection, namely:

  • Condition 3: “a report stating the results of all research and tests supporting the concept of co-disposition […] of the mining tailings accumulation area […] while ensuring the protection of groundwater »;
  • Condition 4: “a quality assurance program for the construction of the accumulation area and the deposition of mining tailings”;
  • Condition 5: “revise the hydrogeological modeling and the study of the transport of contaminants […] to ensure the protection of groundwater” and to “confirm that the disposal of potentially acid-generating mining residues in the pit can be done while ensuring the protection of water resources”;
  • Conditions 10 and 11: “a document presenting the final areas of wetland and water loss” and “measures that will be taken to compensate for the loss of fish habitat in order to achieve the objective of no net loss of fish habitat”;
  • Condition 14: “a monitoring program as well as a monitoring table of all the commitments made […] and publish on its website a monitoring table of the commitments which will make it possible to observe the implementation of the actions”.

- 30 -

Source :
MiningWatch Canada

For information :

About Coalition Québec Meilleur Mine

Coalition So that Quebec looks better! was created in the spring of 2008 and is today made up of around thirty organizations, including Fondation Rivières, representing more than 250,000 members in Quebec. The coalition's mission is to review the way in which the mining sector is managed and developed in Quebec, in order to harmonize its activities with the community and promote best practices on a social and environmental level.

Photo: COPH

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Explore

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed about our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Site minier NMG-Pallinghurst (Mai 2022, crédit COPH)

Filière batterie et eaux contaminées : Des citoyens débutent une surveillance environnementale indépendante de la minière NMG-Pallinghurst

Jeudi 16 juin 2022, Montréal/Saint-Michel-des-Saints – Des citoyens appuyés d’organismes environnementaux annoncent le début d’une surveillance environnementale indépendante du projet Matawinie de la minière Nouveau Monde Graphite (NMG-Pallinghurst), laquelle vise le marché des batteries. Ils font cette annonce alors qu’ils participent aujourd’hui à l’assemblée annuelle des actionnaires de la compagnie.

« À notre connaissance, c’est la première fois que des citoyens décident de se prendre en main pour faire leur propre échantillonnage de la qualité des eaux et des écosystèmes aquatiques autour d’un site minier au Québec », affirme Me Rodrigue Turgeon de MiningWatch Canada et coporte-parole de la Coalition Québec meilleure mine.

« Sur le terrain, nous constatons de plus en plus de déboisements et d’infrastructures qui retiennent des eaux contaminées dont nous ne connaissons ni la composition, ni la provenance », souligne Paul Comeau de la Coalition citoyenne opposée à un projet minier en Haute-Matawinie (COPH). « Ça nous préoccupe énormément parce que nous ne voyons aucune usine de traitement des eaux et que toutes les eaux du site minier s’écoulent éventuellement vers le village et le Parc régional du Lac Taureau. Il y a aussi des puits domestiques autour ».

Exaspérés par le système d’auto-surveillance des minières au Québec et par l’absence d’inspecteurs indépendants sur le terrain, les citoyens ont décidé de prendre eux-mêmes des échantillons d’eau et de sédiments dans une demi-douzaine de cours d’eau depuis octobre 2021. Les résultats de ces échantillons seront rendus publics plus tard cette année dans un rapport préparé par la Société pour vaincre la pollution (SVP), en collaboration avec MiningWatch Canada et la Coalition Québec meilleure mine. Les citoyens dévoilent également des photos inédites du site minier prises en mai 2022 :

Québec interpellé et demandes d’accès l’information

« Ce n’est pas normal que de simples citoyens comme nous devions prendre des échantillons pour vérifier la qualité de notre environnement », lance Daniel Tokatéloff de l’Association pour la protection du Lac Taureau (APLT). « Le ministère de l’Environnement doit jouer son rôle de chien de garde de l’intérêt public. Et la minière qui dit vouloir produire du graphite “vert” pour des batteries “vertes” doit être beaucoup plus transparente avec ses données environnementales.»

Rébecca Pétrin d’Eau Secours ajoute : « Près de 18 mois (539 jours) après avoir reçu son décret d’autorisation, la minière n’a toujours pas répondu à plusieurs des conditions environnementales qui étaient pourtant exigées par le gouvernement, dont un programme de surveillance et des études plus approfondies sur les risques de contamination des eaux reliés à la gestion des déchets miniers ».

Les organismes ont envoyé hier une série de demandes d’accès à l’information ainsi qu’une lettre à M. Benoit Charette, ministre de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques (MELCC), exigeant davantage de transparence et de surveillance du site minier NMG-Pallinghurst. Plus spécifiquement, les organismes demandent des suivis concernant six des conditions émises dans le décret gouvernemental en janvier 2021 visant la protection de l’eau, soit :

  • Condition 3 : « un rapport faisant état des résultats de l’ensemble des recherches et des essais en appui au concept de co-disposition […] de l’aire d’accumulation des résidus miniers […] en assurant la protection des eaux souterraines »;
  • Condition 4 : « un programme d’assurance qualité de la construction de l’aire d’accumulation et de la déposition des résidus miniers »;
  • Condition 5 : « réviser la modélisa­tion hydrogéologique et l’étude du transport des contami­nants […] pour assurer la pro-tection des eaux souterraines » et pour « confirmer que la disposition des résidus miniers poten­tiellement générateurs d’acide dans la fosse peut être faite tout en assurant la protection des ressources en eau »;
  • Conditions 10 et 11 : « un document présentant les superficies définitives des pertes de milieux humides et hydriques » et « des mesures qui seront réalisées pour compenser les pertes d’habitat du poisson afin d’atteindre l’objectif d’aucune perte nette d’habitat du poisson »;
  • Condition 14 : « un programme de sur­veillance ainsi qu’un tableau de suivi de l’ensemble des engagements pris […] et diffuser sur son site Internet un tableau de suivi des engagements qui permettra de constater la mise en œuvre des actions ».

– 30 –

Source :
MiningWatch Canada

Pour information :

À propos de Coalition Québec meilleure mine

La coalition Pour que le Québec ait meilleure mine ! a vu le jour au printemps 2008 et est, aujourd’hui, constituée d’une trentaine d’organismes, dont Fondation Rivières, représentant plus de 250 000 membres au Québec. La coalition s’est donnée pour mission de revoir la façon dont on encadre et développe le secteur minier au Québec, afin d’harmoniser ses activités avec le milieu et de promouvoir de meilleures pratiques aux plans social et environnemental.