La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Water quality study: Correction of inverted connections would promote access to swimming in Repentigny

Échantillonnage à Repentigny

PRESS RELEASE
FOR BROADCAST ON SEPTEMBER 8 at 7 A.M.

Montreal September 8, 2023 – The Rivières Foundation unveils the results of a study on the bacteriological quality of water from the St. Lawrence River and the Assomption River in Repentigny. The City of Repentigny mandated the non-profit organization to evaluate the potential for swimming and nautical activities by identifying sources of contamination to increase the accessibility of the banks to the population as part of the adoption of its environmental policy.

Crossed-connections

The data collected in the summer of 2022 does not allow us to conclude that the water was suitable for swimming, particularly due to the reverse connections. However, in 2014, the City of Repentigny adopted an action plan to carry out an inventory of these connections in order to improve water quality and comply with the requirements of the Quebec-municipality infrastructure program. To optimize its efforts, the Foundation recommends that it prioritize areas that could be used for swimming and other water activities.

Reverse connections are sewer pipes connected to the stormwater network, resulting in the discharge of untreated wastewater into the environment, whether in rainy or dry weather. This widespread phenomenon in Quebec occurs when a contractor makes a non-compliant connection of a new building to the municipal network.

As for activities without direct contact with water (canoe, kayak, paddle board, etc.), two of the four sites studied – Saint-Laurent Park and Île-Lebel Park – presented a quality of life. water meets the recommended threshold most of the time. In Quebec, the recommended threshold for swimming is 200 CFU/100 mL while that for indirect contact activities is 1,000 CFU/100 mL.

Need for electronic overflow recorders (EED)

Wastewater overflows are another source of contamination in Repentigny during rainy weather, but the Foundation was unable to identify which structures were problematic for possible access to water due to the absence of electronic water recorders. overflows (EED) on half of the overflow structures. The EEDs indicate the exact moment of overflows and their duration, essential conditions for the development of a protocol for closing a possible swimming area.

This problem is widespread in Quebec. Since 2014, article 9 of the Regulation respecting municipal wastewater treatment works (ROMAEU) requires that any overflow work which experiences an overflow not caused by an emergency must be equipped with an EED capable of to measure the frequency and cumulative daily duration of overflow.

“Being bordered by the St. Lawrence River and the L'Assomption River, Repentigny has a strategic position in terms of access to water. We feel that there is a clear and strong desire from the City in this direction. Now, we will be able to support the City in implementing our recommendations,” declares the general director of the Rivières Foundation, André Bélanger.

“We welcome with great interest the results presented by the Rivières Foundation. We are committed to giving Repentignoises and Repentignois full access to the two rivers that border their city. To do this, we first had to obtain a clear picture of the situation in order to properly guide our future actions. The results show that we are on the right track, since we have been carrying out an inventory of reverse connections in the territory for more than five years. We will make sure to continue our efforts in line with the recommendations so that the population can rediscover the pleasures offered by the river,” indicates the mayor of the City of Repentigny, Nicolas Dufour.

Methodology

The Rivières Foundation took a total of 110 surface water samples at four regular monitoring sites, twice a week, between July and September 2022. In the river: at Saint-Laurent Park, at Parc de l'Île- Lebel and the North Shore marina. In the L'Assomption River: at Entramis Park. The analysis was carried out on the basis of the enumeration ofEscherichia coli (E.coli).

- 30 -

Source
Picture of Sophie Lachance

Sophie Lachance

Communications and Mobilization Manager
Fondation Rivières
514-272-2666, ext. 307

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informés de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec

La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Faites un don
Search
Fermez ce champ de recherche.

Étude sur la qualité de l’eau : La correction des raccordements inversés favoriserait l’accès à la baignade à Repentigny

Échantillonnage à Repentigny

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE
POUR DIFFUSION LE 8 SEPTEMBRE à 7H

Montréal le 8 septembre 2023 – La Fondation Rivières dévoile les résultats d’une étude sur la qualité bactériologique de l’eau du fleuve Saint-Laurent et de la rivière l’Assomption à Repentigny. La Ville de Repentigny a mandaté l’organisme à but non lucratif afin d’évaluer le potentiel de baignade et d’activités nautiques en identifiant des sources de contamination pour accroître l’accessibilité des rives à la population dans le cadre de l’adoption de sa politique environnementale.

Raccordements inversés

Les données recueillies à l’été 2022 ne permettent pas de conclure que l’eau était propice à la baignade notamment dû aux raccordements inversés. Toutefois, en 2014, la Ville de Repentigny a adopté un plan d’action pour procéder à l’inventaire de ces raccordements afin d’améliorer la qualité de l’eau et de se conformer aux exigences du Programme d’infrastructures Québec-municipalités. Pour optimiser ses efforts, la Fondation recommande qu’elle priorise les secteurs qui pourraient être utilisés pour la baignade et autres activités nautiques.

Les raccordements inversés sont des conduites d’égouts branchées au réseau pluvial, avec pour conséquence de rejeter des eaux usées sans traitement dans l’environnement, que ce soit en temps de pluie ou en temps sec. Ce phénomène répandu au Québec survient lorsqu’un entrepreneur effectue le branchement non-conforme d’un nouvel immeuble au réseau municipal.

Quant aux activités sans contact direct avec l’eau (canot, kayak, planche à pagaie, etc.), deux des quatre sites à l’étude – parc Saint-Laurent et parc de l’Île-Lebel – présentaient une qualité de l’eau conforme au seuil recommandé la plupart du temps. Au Québec, le seuil de baignade recommandé est de 200 UFC/100 mL alors que le celui des activités de contact indirect est de 1 000 UFC/100 mL.

Besoin d'enregistreurs électroniques de débordements (EED)

Les débordements d’eaux usées sont une autre source de contamination à Repentigny par temps de pluie, mais la Fondation n’a pas pu identifier quels ouvrages étaient problématiques pour un éventuel accès à l’eau dû à l’absence d’enregistreurs électroniques de débordements (EED) sur la moitié des ouvrages de surverse. Les EED indiquent le moment exact des débordements et leur durée, des conditions essentielles à l’élaboration d’un protocole de fermeture d’une éventuelle zone de baignade.

Ce problème est répandu au Québec. Depuis 2014, l’article 9 du Règlement sur les ouvrages municipaux d’assainissement des eaux usées (ROMAEU) exige que tout ouvrage de surverse qui connaît un débordement n’étant pas causé par un cas d’urgence soit muni d’un EED capable de mesurer la fréquence et la durée cumulée quotidienne de débordement.

« Étant bordée par le fleuve Saint-Laurent et la rivière L’Assomption, Repentigny a une position stratégique en termes d’accès à l’eau. On sent qu’il y a une volonté claire et forte de la Ville en ce sens. Maintenant, on va pouvoir accompagner la Ville dans la mise en œuvre de nos recommandations », déclare le directeur général de la Fondation Rivières, André Bélanger.

« Nous accueillons avec grand intérêt les résultats présentés par la Fondation Rivières. Nous avons à cœur de redonner aux Repentignoises et aux Repentignois un plein accès aux deux cours d’eau qui bordent leur ville. Pour ce faire, nous devions d’abord obtenir un portrait clair de la situation afin de bien orienter nos actions futures. Les résultats démontrent que nous sommes sur la bonne voie, puisque nous procédons à l’inventaire des raccordements inversés sur le territoire depuis plus de cinq ans. Nous nous assurerons de poursuivre nos efforts dans le sens des recommandations afin que la population puisse redécouvrir les plaisirs qu’offrent le fleuve et la rivière », indique le maire de la Ville de Repentigny, Nicolas Dufour.

Méthodologie

La Fondation Rivières a prélevé un total de 110 échantillons d’eau de surface à quatre sites de suivi réguliers, deux fois par semaine, entre juillet et septembre 2022. Dans le fleuve : au parc Saint-Laurent, au parc de l’Île-Lebel et à la marina de la Rive-Nord. Dans la rivière L’Assomption : au parc Entramis. L’analyse s’est faite sur la base du dénombrement d’Escherichia coli (E. coli).

– 30 –

Source
Picture of Sophie Lachance

Sophie Lachance

Responsable des communications et de la mobilisation
Fondation Rivières
514-272-2666, poste 307

Faites une différence pour l'environnement

Devenez membre de la Fondation en faisant un don. Votre contribution permet à notre équipe de continuer à se mobiliser pour protéger les rivières et cours d’eau du Québec pour les générations futures. 

Vous avez une question ?

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informés de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec