La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Wastewater Outfalls: Rivers Foundation's 2021 Scorecard Shows Improvement

Émissaire - Déversements d'eaux usées

PRESS RELEASE
FOR BROADCAST ON THURSDAY, NOVEMBER 3 AT 7 A.M.

Montreal, November 3, 2022 – For a third year, Fondation Rivières makes public the list of municipalities that stand out in terms of the intensity of their wastewater spills. Quebec experienced 36,391 wastewater spills in 2021, compared to 52,794 the previous year. The Foundation is innovating this year by displaying theevolution of the performances of the 700 municipalities from 2017 to 2021, and this decrease is reflected in the intensity of spills per capita, which has been declining overall for five years. 

Less precipitation, fewer spills

A growing number of municipalities are experiencing a decline in the intensity and number of spills. This decrease can be largely attributed to exceptional meteorological phenomena: early melting in spring 2020 had reduced the load on the sewer networks during the big spring rains and there had been little precipitation during the period of spring melt in 2021

“We must rejoice in the results of the 2021 rankings, but the picture will probably be less rosy in 2022, when we experienced several episodes of intense precipitation in spring and summer,” explains the general director of Fondation Rivières, André Bélanger. 

Once again, some municipalities have an advantage in the rankings since they do not have electronic recorders allowing them to count the number and duration of spills. The 2021 ranking, however, reflects the number of diversions carried out by municipalities. Diversion occurs at wastewater treatment plants when wastewater is not properly treated before being released into rivers. 

Cities more ambitious than the provincial

The Fondation Rivières invited the 35 most populous cities and municipalities in each administrative region and which are at the top of the ranking to react to their performance. Eight of them provided explanations, either Alma, Baie-Comeau, Blainville, Granby, Lévis, Longueuil, Montreal and Quebec.

Several of them emphasized having adopted objectives aimed at a net reduction in spills, a position which contrasts with that of the Ministry of the Environment, the Fight against Climate Change, Wildlife and Parks (MELCCFP ). This did not provide Quebec with an overall objective for reducing wastewater spills, but simply asks not to increase the number beyond 2013 levels, according to its ministerial position of September 22, 2021 In this same ministerial position, he even grants municipalities a deadline until January 1, 2030 to achieve this objective. Until then, additional discharges are permitted.

“We are in the right direction,” says André Bélanger. We see that municipal elected officials are sensitive to water quality issues and that improvement could be accelerated if the Quebec government had objectives for reducing spills and released the necessary investments to meet them. Our municipal elected officials are more ambitious than our provincial government. »

Sanitation certificates: an effective tool in the hands of a ministry lacking resources

However, the MELCCFP hassanitation certificates, a regulatory tool that has the power to help municipalities accelerate and prioritize the work needed to reduce spills. These certificates are the result of an evaluation of the performance of municipal works by the MELCCFP and they allow it to take action in the event of non-compliance. 

The municipality which has a sanitation certificate obtains financing more quickly and easily in order to correct problematic works, including the establishment of green infrastructure and the replacement of unitary networks by separative networks, from the Ministry of Affairs Municipal and Housing (MAMH). For the moment, funding requests from municipalities submitted to the MAMH are processed on a first-come, first-served basis, whereas they should be processed according to their potential to reduce the impact on the receiving environment.

However, barely 160 municipalities out of 850 for which a certificate has been issued to date. It will be necessary to wait until 2026 for this work to be completed. Not only must the MELCCFP devote more resources to speeding up their issuance, but it should also make their content public. You currently have to submit an access to information request to consult them, even though they are of public interest and act as a guide for municipalities. 

About the Spill Intensity Index

The ranking is based on the spill intensity index developed by Fondation Rivières. The intensity of spills per capita is an indicator that takes into account the duration of spills and the size of the overflowing structure. It makes it possible to compare the performance of municipalities with each other, regardless of their size, and to distinguish those which have improved compared to previous years from those where the situation has deteriorated. 

About the Fondation Rivières 

For 20 years, the Fondation Rivières has worked to preserve, restore and highlight the natural character of rivers. It helps ensure water quality and access to water for the Quebec population, taking into account social, environmental and economic dimensions.

To consult the 2021 rankings, the history of the last 5 years, the interactive map and the reaction of the municipalities: https://fondationrivieres.org/carte-palmares-deversements-quebec/ 

-30-

Source :

Sophie Lachance
Communications and Mobilization Leader
Fondation Rivières
514-272-2666, ext. 307
communications@fondationrivieres.org

Photo: Fondation Rivières

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informés de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Faites un don

Déversements d’eaux usées : le palmarès 2021 de la Fondation Rivières révèle une amélioration

Émissaire - Déversements d'eaux usées

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE
POUR DIFFUSION LE JEUDI 3 NOVEMBRE À 7H

Montréal, le 3 novembre 2022 – Pour une troisième année, la Fondation Rivières rend publique la liste des municipalités qui se démarquent quant à l’intensité de leurs déversements d’eaux usées. Le Québec a connu 36 391 déversements d’eaux usées en 2021, contre 52 794 l’année précédente. La Fondation innove cette année en affichant l’évolution des performances des 700 municipalités de 2017 à 2021, et cette diminution se reflète dans l’intensité des déversements par habitant, qui est globalement en baisse depuis cinq ans. 

Moins de précipitations, moins de déversements

Un nombre croissant de municipalités enregistre une baisse de l’intensité et du nombre de déversements. Cette diminution peut être attribuée en grande partie à des phénomènes météorologiques exceptionnels : une fonte précoce au printemps 2020 avait réduit la charge sur les réseaux d’égout au moment des grandes pluies printanières et il y avait eu peu de précipitations durant la période de fonte printanière en 2021

« Il faut se réjouir des résultats du palmarès 2021, mais le portrait sera probablement moins reluisant en 2022, alors qu’on a connu plusieurs épisodes de précipitations intenses au printemps et à l’été », nuance le directeur général de la Fondation Rivières, André Bélanger. 

Encore une fois, certaines municipalités sortent avantagées dans le palmarès puisqu’elles ne sont pas dotées d’enregistreurs électroniques permettant de comptabiliser le nombre et la durée des déversements. Le palmarès 2021 rend compte toutefois du nombre de dérivations réalisées par les municipalités. Une dérivation se produit aux stations d’épuration lorsque des eaux usées ne sont pas convenablement traitées avant d’être rejetées dans les rivières. 

Des villes plus ambitieuses que le provincial

La Fondation Rivières a invité les 35 villes et municipalités les plus peuplées de chaque région administrative et qui figurent en tête du classement à réagir à leur performance. Huit d’entre elles ont fourni des explications, soit Alma, Baie-Comeau, Blainville, Granby, Lévis, Longueuil, Montréal et Québec.

Plusieurs d’entre elles ont souligné s’être dotées d’objectifs visant une diminution nette des déversements, une position qui contraste avec celle du ministère de l’Environnement, de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques, de la Faune et des Parcs (MELCCFP). Celui-ci n’a pas doté le Québec d’un objectif global de réduction des déversements d’eaux usées, mais demande simplement de ne pas en augmenter le nombre au-delà des niveaux de 2013, selon sa position ministérielle du 22 septembre 2021. Dans cette même position ministérielle, il accorde même un délai aux municipalités jusqu’au 1er janvier 2030 pour atteindre cet objectif. D’ici là, les rejets supplémentaires sont permis.

« On est dans la bonne direction, affirme André Bélanger. On constate que les élu.e.s municipaux sont sensibles aux enjeux de la qualité de l’eau et que l’amélioration pourrait être accélérée si le gouvernement du Québec avait des objectifs de réduction de déversements et débloquait les investissements nécessaires pour les rencontrer. Nos élu.e.s municipaux sont plus ambitieux que notre gouvernement provincial. »

Attestations d’assainissement : un outil efficace entre les mains d’un ministère en manque de ressources

Le MELCCFP dispose pourtant d’attestations d’assainissement, un outil réglementaire qui a le pouvoir d’aider les municipalités à accélérer et à prioriser les travaux nécessaires pour réduire les déversements. Ces attestations sont le fruit d’une évaluation de la performance des ouvrages des municipalités par le MELCCFP et elles lui permettent de sévir en cas de non-conformité. 

La municipalité qui dispose d’une attestation d’assainissement obtient plus rapidement et facilement le financement afin de corriger les ouvrages problématiques, incluant la mise en place d’infrastructures vertes et le remplacement des réseaux unitaires par des réseaux séparatifs, auprès du ministère des Affaires municipales et de l’Habitation (MAMH). Pour l’instant, les demandes de financement par les municipalités déposées au MAMH sont traitées sur une base de premier arrivé, premier servi, alors qu’elles devraient être traitées  selon leur potentiel de réduire l’impact sur le milieu récepteur.

Or, c’est à peine 160 municipalités sur 850 pour lesquelles une attestation a été émise à ce jour. Il faudra attendre 2026 pour que ce travail soit complété. Non seulement le MELCCFP doit consacrer plus de ressources à accélérer leur délivrance, mais il devrait aussi rendre leur contenu public. Il faut actuellement présenter une demande d’accès à l’information pour les consulter, alors qu’elles sont d’intérêt public et agissent à titre de guide pour les municipalités. 

À propos de l’indice d’intensité des déversements

Le palmarès est réalisé sur la base de l’indice d’intensité des déversements développé par la Fondation Rivières. L’intensité des déversements par habitant est un indicateur qui tient compte de la durée des déversements et de la taille de l’ouvrage qui déborde. Il permet de comparer la performance des municipalités entre elles, peu importe leur taille, et de distinguer celles qui se sont améliorées comparativement aux années précédentes de celles où la situation s’est détériorée. 

À propos de Fondation Rivières 

Depuis 20 ans, la Fondation Rivières œuvre à préserver, restaurer et mettre en valeur le caractère naturel des rivières. Elle contribue à assurer la qualité de l’eau et l’accès à l’eau pour la population québécoise, en tenant compte des dimensions sociales, environnementales et économiques.

Pour consulter le palmarès 2021, l’historique des 5 dernières années, la carte interactive et la réaction des municipalités : https://fondationrivieres.org/carte-palmares-deversements-quebec/ 

-30-

Source :

Sophie Lachance
Chargée aux communications et à la mobilisation
Fondation Rivières
514-272-2666, poste 307
[email protected]

Photo : Fondation Rivières

Faites une différence

Découvrez comment prendre action pour la protection des rivières et cours d’eau du Québec en vous inscrivant à notre infolettre. 

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Roches_Hugo Clement_Unsplash_OS

Faites un don pour protéger les rivières et les cours d'eau du Québec

La Fondation Rivières et une organisation a but non lucrative qui voit à la préservation, la restauration et la mise en valeur du caractère naturel et écologique des rivières.