La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Wastewater spills: the state must control municipalities to reduce discharges

Eau Unsplash Nicolas Weldingh

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montreal, November 14, 2018 – On the eve of a spill of untreated wastewater by the city of Longueuil, an eight-day “flushgate”, the Fondation Rivières requests the implementation of six measures to significantly reduce the pollution caused by municipal decisions .

In letter transmitted to the new Minister of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change, Ms. MarieChantal Chassé, available on our website, the Fondation Rivières identifies concrete and simple actions that the Ministry should take. These are summarized as follows: 1) designation of a ministerial manager 2) identification of mandatory mitigation measures 3) production of a list of activities to be carried out 4) requirement to produce an event report 5) obligation to obtain ministerial authorization before a planned discharge 6) introduction of an incentive fee on each cubic meter of wastewater discharged.

In the case of Longueuil, where a 16-meter pipe in the bed of the Saint-Laurent must be replaced, it is noted that the contract with the contractor, paid at an hourly rate, does not provide an incentive clause for rapid completion of the work. works. Industries are also present in the affected territory and an inventory accompanied by mitigation measures, in such situations, is desirable.

“The population wants to have the assurance, with good reason, that all reasonable efforts have been made to minimize spills,” declares Alain Saladzius, engineer and president of Fondation Rivières, while adding that “the government has not yet implemented in place, since Montreal's flushgate in 2015, conditions that make it possible to identify best practices.

Like the 93 municipalities which still discharge untreated wastewater directly into the environment, the government must designate experts to support them in resolving these persistent problems.

- 30 -

For informations :

Alain Saladzius
President
514 924-2013
presidency@fondationrivieres.org

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Déversements d’eaux usées : L’État doit contrôler les municipalités afin de réduire les rejets

, , ,

Montréal, le 14 novembre 2018 – À la veille d’un déversement d’eaux usées non-traitées par la ville de Longueuil, un « flushgate » de huit jours, la Fondation Rivières demande la mise en place de six mesures permettant de réduire significativement la pollution occasionnée par les décisions municipales.

Dans une lettre transmise à la nouvelle ministre de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques, madame MarieChantal Chassé, disponible sur notre site internet, la Fondation Rivières identifie des gestes concrets et simples que devrait poser le Ministère. Ceux-ci se résument ainsi : 1) désignation d’un responsable ministériel 2) identification de mesures de mitigation obligatoires 3) production d’une liste d’activités à réaliser 4) exigence de produire un rapport d’événement 5) obligation d’obtenir une autorisation ministérielle avant un déversement planifié 6) instauration d’une redevance incitative sur chaque mètre cube d’eaux usées déversé.

Dans le cas de Longueuil, où une conduite de 16 mètres dans le lit du Saint-Laurent doit être remplacée, il est constaté que le contrat avec l’entrepreneur, payé à taux horaire, ne prévoit pas de clause incitative à une réalisation rapide des travaux. Des industries sont également présentes sur le territoire touché et un inventaire accompagné de mesures de mitigations, dans de telles situations, est souhaitable.

« La population veut avoir l’assurance, avec raison, que tous les efforts raisonnables ont été réalisés afin de minimiser les déversements » déclare Alain Saladzius, ingénieur et président de la Fondation Rivières, tout en ajoutant que « le gouvernement n’a pas encore mis en place, depuis le flushgate de Montréal en 2015, des conditions qui permettent d’identifier les meilleures pratiques ».

À l’instar des 93 municipalités qui rejettent encore des eaux usées non-traitées directement dans l’environnement, le gouvernement doit désigner des experts afin de les accompagner pour régler ces problèmes qui perdurent.

La Fondation Rivières est un organisme à but non lucratif dont la mission est d’œuvrer à la préservation, la restauration et la mise en valeur du caractère naturel des rivières – tout autant que de la qualité de l’eau.

-30-

Pour informations : Alain Saladzius, ing., président
514 924-2013
presidence@fondationrivieres.org

 

Communiqué de presse de la FR – PDF

Lettre de la FR à la Ministre Chassé – PDF

0 réponses

Répondre

Se joindre à la discussion ?
Vous êtes libre de contribuer !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *