La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Montreal sewage spill: working method must be revised to reduce pollution

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montreal, October 7, 2015 – The Fondation Rivières managed, with the collaboration of Projet Montréal, to read the call for tenders document published for the construction of the Riverside snow chute and the removal of the existing bend in the southern interceptor. The document, published on the Electronic Tendering Service (SEAO) website on May 10, 2015, provides information allowing us to question several aspects of the project and to correct several pieces of information circulating. This document should be analyzed by Environment Canada which now, belatedly, wants to review the file.

Regarding the period of least environmental impact, this is not from October 15 to November 15 as indicated by Minister Heurtel. We can read in his ministry's analysis report that it extends from 1er December to the end of February. However, for other considerations, such as the availability of a maximum number of snowfalls and to minimize construction costs, it was established by the City from October 15 to December 18.

The Foundation considers that for such specialized work, contractors, who have the practical expertise for such complex work, resources and experience often on an international level, should have been allowed to propose working methods which minimize wastewater discharge. Which would not have stopped the City from proposing its own. The important thing is to obtain a result that minimizes pollution and is safe.

The Fondation Rivières, which examines the performance of several sanitation systems on certain rivers, emphasizes that wastewater overflows into waterways constitute an underestimated and little-known problem in Quebec. The examples of situations that occur in Ontario or during natural disasters do not excuse laxity regarding this problem, even if it proves unavoidable in certain places.

-30-

For informations :

Alain Saladzius
President
514 924-2013
presidency@fondationrivieres.org

Read the full press release

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Déversement d’égouts de Montréal : la méthode de travail doit être révisée pour réduire la pollution

La Fondation Rivières a réussi, avec la collaboration de Projet Montréal, à prendre connaissance du document d’appel d’offres publié pour la construction de la chute à neige Riverside et l’enlèvement du cintrage existant dans l’intercepteur sud. Le document, publié sur le site du Service électronique d’appel d’offres (SEAO) le 10 mai 2015, donne des informations permettant de questionner plusieurs aspects du projet et de corriger plusieurs informations qui circulent. Ce document devrait être analysé par Environnement Canada qui veut maintenant, tardivement, revoir le dossier.

En ce qui concerne la période de moindre impact environnemental, celle-ci n’est pas du 15 octobre au 15 novembre comme l’indique le ministre Heurtel. On peut lire au Rapport d’analyse de son ministère qu’elle s’étend plutôt du 1er décembre à la fin février. Cependant, pour d’autres considérations, telles la disponibilité d’un nombre maximal de chutes à neige et pour minimiser les coûts de construction, elle a été établie par la Ville du 15 octobre au 18 décembre.

La Fondation considère que pour de tels travaux spécialisés, il aurait fallu permettre aux entrepreneurs, qui disposent de l’expertise pratique pour de tels travaux complexes, de ressources et d’une expérience souvent sur le plan international, de proposer des méthodes de travail qui minimisent le déversement des eaux usées. Ce qui n’aurait pas empêché la Ville de proposer la sienne. L’important est d’obtenir un résultat minimisant la pollution et une réalisation sécuritaire.

La Fondation Rivières, qui examine la performance de plusieurs systèmes d’assainissement sur certaines rivières, souligne que les débordements d’eaux usées dans les cours d’eau constituent une problématique sous-estimée et méconnue au Québec. Les exemples de situations qui se produisent en Ontario ou lors de catastrophes naturelles n’excusent pas le laxisme face à ce problème, même s’il s’avère incontournable à certains endroits.

Pour lire notre communiqué en entier.

0 réponses

Répondre

Se joindre à la discussion ?
Vous êtes libre de contribuer !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *