La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Destruction of wetlands: end of the excuse of private property

Milieu humide

There was a time when we could destroy Quebec's wetlands with complete impunity. Then, a time when real estate developers tried at all costs to circumvent the regulations put in place to justify projects harmful to natural environments.

Well, that time will soon be over because a giant step forward in environmental law has just been taken: the Superior Court has ruled that Private property did not constitute an absolute right with regard to the conservation of wetlands. There will therefore no longer be a question of suing municipalities regarding regulations that protect these areas essential to our environment, and especially not using the excuse of private property!

Vulnerable wetlands

The situation of wetlands in Canada is critical, with already 70% of them in inhabited areas having been destroyed. The situation is even more serious near the Metropolitan Community of Montreal where barely 15% environments that existed in their natural state are still intact, which constitutes an ecological catastrophe for the survival of species. Let us remember that the chorus frog is still in danger in Quebec!

Un des rares milieux humides restants à proximité de Montréal, à l'Île Bizard. Crédit photo: Gilles Douaire
One of the few remaining wetlands near Montreal, on Île Bizard. Photo credit: Gilles Doaire

These environments are essential because of the biological diversity that depends on them, but also the multiple benefits they provide, whether through water filtration or flow regulation. True buffer zones of nature, they are essential for maintaining the balance of the ecosystem, including that of rivers.

Go through justice to destroy

Municipalities that wish to do their part to improve the fate of wetlands have significant power in the conservation of natural spaces, thanks to their zoning regulations. It is essential that they are able to enforce them.

In fact, municipal regulations are much more effective than the provincial version, namely the Regulations for Compensation and Restoration of Wet and Water Environments. This regulation recommends, as compensation for the damage to a wetland environment, paying a certain amount or promising the restoration of another environment. However, compensation is in no way a sufficient means to slow down destruction when the financial means of promoters are sufficiently significant, and especially if these Regulations become more flexible. The Foundation has also denounced intentions to relax the Regulation in the past. The new version of it, presented in July 2021, turns out, according to the Foundation, to be rather worrying given that the objective of “zero net loss” is still very far from being achieved. Consequently, municipal zoning is undoubtedly the most effective regulatory tool. This is why it is the most contested during real estate development projects.

The exprohdisguised prayer has long been a reason used by developers to try to circumvent municipal regulations that protect natural spaces. According to them, municipalities are infringing on private property rights by restricting many uses of land for conservation purposes. Often, they achieve their goals by demanding a compensatory sum in exchange for the income potential “lost” by zoning regulations. This amount is often very high; this is among other reasons why the City of Montreal has never been able to protect the Meadowbrook stream, which led to his sad situation.

This practice could well end with this latest verdict, and the Foundation is delighted with this new state of the law!

The importance of environmental law

This is not the first legal case that the Foundation has closely followed. We should expect other attempts to justify the destruction of natural environments in the future. This latest decision still remains very encouraging!

In order to stay informed on legal environmental issues, we also invite you to browse the page obiterre from the Center Québécois du Droit en Environnement, which offers a popularization of all the legal aspects to remember, particularly with regard to wetlands and bodies of water.

Let’s stay vigilant and informed!

Labels

Our recent news

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Milieu humide

Destruction des milieux humides: fin de l’excuse de la propriété privée

Il fut un temps où l’on pouvait détruire les milieux humides du Québec en toute impunité. Puis, un temps où des promoteurs immobiliers essayaient coûte que coûte de contourner les règlementations mises en place pour justifier des projets néfastes aux milieux naturels.

Et bien, ce temps sera bientôt révolu car un pas de géant dans le droit environnemental vient d’être franchi: la Cour Supérieure a jugé que la propriété privée ne constituait pas un droit absolu en ce qui concerne la conservation des milieux humides. Il ne sera donc plus question de poursuivre les municipalités concernant les règlementations qui protègent ces milieux essentiels à notre environnement, et surtout pas en utilisant l’excuse de la propriété privée!

Des milieux humides vulnérables

La situation des milieux humides au Canada est critique, alors que déjà 70% d’entre eux en milieu habité ont été détruits. La situation est encore plus grave près de la Communauté Métropolitaine de Montréal où à peine 15% des milieux qui existaient à l’état naturel sont encore intacts, ce qui constitue une catastrophe écologique pour la survie des espèces. Rappelons-nous que la rainette faux-grillon est encore en péril au Québec!

Un des rares milieux humides restants à proximité de Montréal, à l'Île Bizard. Crédit photo: Gilles Douaire
Un des rares milieux humides restants à proximité de Montréal, à l’Île Bizard. Crédit photo: Gilles Douaire

Ces milieux sont essentiels en raison de la diversité biologique qui en dépend, mais aussi des multiples bienfaits qu’ils apportent, que ce soit par la filtration de l’eau ou la régulation des débits. Véritables zones tampons de la nature, ils sont essentiels pour le maintien de l’équilibre de l’écosystème, dont celui des rivières.

Passer par la justice pour détruire

Les municipalités qui souhaitent faire leur part pour améliorer le sort des milieux humides ont un pouvoir non négligeable dans la conservation des espaces naturels, et ce grâce à leurs règlements de zonage. Il est essentiel qu’elles soient en mesure de les faire respecter.

En effet, la règlementation municipale est bien plus efficace que la version provinciale, soit le Règlement pour la Compensation et la Restauration des Milieux Humides et Hydriques. Ce règlement préconise, comme contrepartie à l’atteinte d’un milieu humide, de verser une certaine somme ou de promettre la restauration d’un autre milieu. Or, la compensation n’est en rien un moyen suffisant pour freiner la destruction lorsque les moyens financiers des promoteurs sont suffisamment importants, et surtout si ce Règlement s’assouplit. La Fondation a d’ailleurs dénoncé les intentions d’assouplir le Règlement dans le passé. La nouvelle mouture de celui-ci, présentée en juillet 2021, s’avère, selon la Fondation, plutôt inquiétante vu que l’objectif de «zéro perte nette» est encore très loin d’être atteint. Par conséquent, le zonage municipal est sans conteste l’outil règlementaire le plus efficace. C’est pour cela qu’il est le plus contesté lors des projets de développement immobilier.

L’expropriation déguisée a longtemps été un motif utilisé par les promoteurs pour essayer de contourner la règlementation municipale qui protège les espaces naturels. Selon eux, les municipalités enfreignent le droit de propriété privée en restreignant de nombreux usages de terrain à des fins de conservation. Souvent, ils arrivent à leurs fins en réclamant une somme compensatoire en échange du potentiel de revenu «perdu» par les règlements de zonage. Cette somme est souvent très élevée; c’est entre autres pour cela que la Ville de Montréal n’a jamais pu protéger le ruisseau de Meadowbrook, ce qui a conduit à sa triste situation.

Cette pratique pourrait bien prendre fin avec ce dernier verdict , et la Fondation se réjouit de ce nouvel état du droit!

L’importance du droit en environnement

Ce n’est pas la premier cas judiciaire que la Fondation suit de près. Nous devrons nous attendre à d’autres tentatives de justifier la destruction de milieux naturels dans le futur. Cette dernière décision reste tout de même très encourageante!

Afin de rester informés sur les enjeux légaux en environnement, nous vous invitons aussi à parcourir la page Obiterre du Centre Québécois du Droit en Environnement, qui propose une vulgarisation de tous les aspects légaux à retenir, notamment en ce qui a trait aux milieux humides et hydriques.

Restons vigilant.e.s et informé.e.s!

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *