La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Denationalization of electricity – Organizations denounce a historic setback and demand a real public debate

dénationalisation de l'électricité_rs_ai

COMMUNICATED
For broadcast on Tuesday January 23, 2024 at 7 a.m.
SOURCE: Greenpeace

Montreal, January 23, 2024 – Civil society organizations react to the intention of the Minister of Economy, Innovation and Energy, Pierre Fitzgibbon, to table a bill which would legalize the direct sale of electricity between private companies, which is currently prohibited, and thus put an end to the monopoly from Hydro-Québec. The organizations affirm that the proposal to denationalize electricity is a historic step backwards which takes us back 60 years, while the Legault government did not receive the mandate to weaken this essential public service which is of strategic importance for the economy and energy security of Quebec. The importance of energy issues requires that a real public debate takes place so that decisions are made in the collective interest.

60 years of history and the decarbonization of Quebec are at stake

Who has the legitimacy to decide on the use of the territory and limited resources? According to the government's approach, industrial projects will monopolize in an unplanned and uncoordinated manner the equipment, the workforce, the most economically advantageous territories conducive to the construction of new electrical infrastructures, as well as the economic spinoffs which are associated with it, all without consulting the population. In addition, this lack of planning would have repercussions on the effort required and on the electricity bill of the entire population. “The population has never given the CAQ the mandate to overturn the collective decision taken 60 years ago to nationalize electricity. Before any legislative modification, there needs to be an overall plan and a real social debate to define the directions of this plan. It is the decarbonization of Quebec, from a just transition perspective, which is in danger,” argue the organizations.

This entire situation – just like the dubious practices used to shield other files like that of Northvolt from public debate and environmental obligations – dramatically illustrates the need to quickly hold a legitimate exercise of social dialogue on the energy future of the Quebec. This request, expressed publicly and directly to the government for more than a year now by around a hundred Quebec civil society organizations, remains a dead letter to this day. Faced with this silence, the groups renewed their request, on November 30, by presenting to the National Assembly the Manifesto for a fair and viable energy future, supported by the Parti Québécois and Québec solidaire. Several organizations have also asked for a moratorium on the granting of electricity for industrial development, the time to adopt an energy policy and an integrated resources plan based on broad consultation and democratic debate. This policy and plan should be based on a systemic approach including in particular environmental and social impacts.

“An online consultation, in the middle of summer, on a subject restricted to the development and supervision of renewable energies, does not exempt us from a real democratic debate on the much broader question of the energy future of Quebec,” insist the groups. As the nationalization of Hydro-Québec was the subject of a referendum election in 1962, the signatories call on all civil society groups to mobilize to demand that this social choice is not arbitrarily overturned by the government. As synthesized Boucar Diouf, “we have never voted for what Pierre Fitzgibbon is trying to do”.


 

Lists of signatory organizations:

  • Greenpeace Canada
  • Grouping of environmental energy organizations
  • Fondation Rivières
  • Nature Quebec
  • ACEF of North Montreal
  • Eco-citizen movement
  • A planet
  • Emergency Water
  • Environmental mobilization Ahuntsic-Cartierville
  • Popular Education and Community Action Movement of Quebec (MÉPACQ)
  • Women for Climate Collective (CFC)
  • Solidarity Environment Sutton
  • David Suzuki Foundation
  • Central Council of Metropolitan Montreal-CSN
  • Crossroads for participation, resourcing and training (CPRF)
  • Friends of the Earth of Quebec
  • Quebec Association for the Fight against Atmospheric Pollution (AQLPA)
  • Scientific collective on energy issues in Quebec
  • Rivière-du-Nord Landfill Alert Coalition (CAER)
  • Quebec Association of Physicians for the Environment (AQME)
  • Attac Quebec
  • Consumers Union
  • Mothers at the front
  • Quebec hydrocarbon vigilance group
  • The Ecotheque
  • Justice and Faith Center

– 30-

For more information or to obtain interviews with the signatories of the press release, please contact:

Melanie Busby
melanie.busby@pourlatransitionenergetique.org
(514) 233-8941

Anne-Céline Guyon, Nature Quebec
anne-celine.guyon@naturequebec.org
(581) 989-0815

Patrick Bonin, Greenpeace Canada
patrick.bonin@greenpeace.org
(514) 594-1221

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Explore

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed about our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Faites un don
Search
Fermez ce champ de recherche.

Dénationalisation de l’électricité – Des organisations dénoncent un recul historique et exigent un véritable débat public

dénationalisation de l'électricité_rs_ai

COMMUNIQUÉ
Pour diffusion le mardi 23 janvier 2024 à 7 h
SOURCE : Greenpeace

Montréal, le 23 janvier 2024 – Des organisations de la société civile réagissent à l’intention du ministre de l’Économie, de l’Innovation et de l’Énergie, Pierre Fitzgibbon, de déposer un projet de loi qui légaliserait la vente directe d’électricité entre entreprises privées, ce qui est actuellement interdit, et mettrait ainsi fin au monopole d’Hydro-Québec. Les organisations affirment que la proposition de dénationaliser l’électricité est un recul historique qui nous ramène 60 ans en arrière, alors que le gouvernement Legault n’a pas reçu le mandat de fragiliser ce service public essentiel qui est d’importance stratégique pour l’économie et la sécurité énergétique du Québec. L’importance des enjeux énergétiques exige qu’un véritable débat public ait lieu de manière à ce que les décisions soient prises dans l’intérêt collectif.

60 ans d’histoire et la décarbonation du Québec sont en jeu

À qui appartient la légitimité de décider de l’usage du territoire et des ressources limitées ? Selon l’approche du gouvernement, les projets industriels accapareront de façon non planifiée et non coordonnée les équipements, la main-d’œuvre, les territoires les plus économiquement avantageux et propices à la construction de nouvelles infrastructures électriques, ainsi que les retombées économiques qui y sont associées, le tout sans consultation de la population. En plus, ce manque de planification se répercuterait sur l’effort demandé et sur la facture d’électricité de l’ensemble de la population. « La population n’a jamais donné à la CAQ le mandat de renverser la décision collective prise il y a 60 ans de nationaliser l’électricité. Avant toute modification législative, il faut un plan d’ensemble et un vrai débat de société pour définir les orientations de ce plan. C’est la décarbonation du Québec, dans une perspective de transition juste, qui est en péril », soutiennent les organisations.

L’ensemble de cette situation – tout comme les pratiques douteuses employées pour soustraire d’autres dossiers comme celui de Northvolt au débat public et aux obligations environnementales – illustre dramatiquement la nécessité de tenir rapidement un exercice légitime de dialogue social sur l’avenir énergétique du Québec. Cette demande, exprimée publiquement et directement au gouvernement depuis maintenant plus d’un an par une centaine d’organisations de la société civile québécoise, reste lettre morte à ce jour. Face à ce silence, les groupes ont renouvelé leur demande, le 30 novembre dernier, en présentant à l’Assemblée nationale le Manifeste pour un avenir énergétique juste et viable, appuyé par le Parti Québécois et Québec solidaire. Plusieurs organisations ont également demandé un moratoire sur l’octroi d’électricité pour le développement industriel, le temps de se doter d’une politique énergétique et d’un plan intégré des ressources basés sur une consultation large et un débat démocratique. Cette politique et ce plan devraient être fondés sur une approche systémique incluant notamment les impacts environnementaux et sociaux.

« Une consultation en ligne, en plein été, sur un sujet restreint au développement et à l’encadrement des énergies renouvelables, ne dispense pas d’un vrai débat démocratique sur la question beaucoup plus large de l’avenir énergétique du Québec », insistent les groupes. Comme la nationalisation d’Hydro-Québec a fait l’objet d’une élection référendaire en 1962, les signataires appellent tous les groupes de la société civile à se mobiliser pour exiger que ce choix de société ne soit pas renversé arbitrairement par le gouvernement. Comme l’a synthétisé Boucar Diouf, « on n’a jamais voté pour ce qu’essaie de faire Pierre Fitzgibbon ».


 

Listes des organisations signataires :

  • Greenpeace Canada
  • Regroupement des organismes environnementaux en énergie
  • Fondation Rivières
  • Nature Québec
  • ACEF du Nord de Montréal
  • Mouvement écocitoyen
  • UNEplanète
  • Eau Secours
  • Mobilisation environnement Ahuntsic-Cartierville
  • Mouvement d’éducation populaire et d’action communautaire du Québec (MÉPACQ)
  • Collectif Femmes pour le climat (CFC)
  • Solidarité Environnement Sutton
  • Fondation David Suzuki
  • Conseil central du Montréal métropolitain-CSN
  • Carrefour de participation, ressourcement et formation (CPRF)
  • Les AmiEs de la Terre de Québec
  • Association québécoise de lutte contre la pollution atmosphérique (AQLPA)
  • Collectif scientifique sur les enjeux énergétiques au Québec
  • Coalition Alerte à l’Enfouissement Rivière-du-Nord (CAER )
  • Association québécoise des médecins pour l‘environnement (AQME)
  • Attac Québec
  • Union des consommateurs
  • Mères au front
  • Regroupement vigilance hydrocarbures Québec
  • L’Écothèque
  • Centre Justice et Foi

– 30-

Pour plus d’informations ou pour obtenir des entretiens avec les signataires du communiqué, veuillez contacter :

Mélanie Busby
melanie.busby@pourlatransitionenergetique.org
(514) 233-8941

Anne-Céline Guyon, Nature Québec
anne-celine.guyon@naturequebec.org
(581) 989-0815

Patrick Bonin, Greenpeace Canada
patrick.bonin@greenpeace.org
(514) 594-1221

Faites une différence pour l'environnement

Devenez membre de la Fondation en faisant un don. Votre contribution permet à notre équipe de continuer à se mobiliser pour protéger les rivières et cours d’eau du Québec pour les générations futures. 

Vous avez une question ?

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informés de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec