La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Sewer overflows in Montreal: The justifications are in no way convincing

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montreal, October 2, 2015 – The City of Montreal failed to convince the Fondation Rivières of the merits of its decision to discharge a third of its sewage from the Island directly into the St. Lawrence River for one week, starting October 18. At most, the City presented the context of the work: the abandonment of the Wellington snow chute to relocate it to an access point on Riverside Street.

The comments made during today's press conference give rise to further concern. Unable to name the municipalities that draw their supplies from the river that would be affected by the plume of contamination, the City could nevertheless assure that they “would not be affected”. However, five municipalities would receive sewer discharges directly into their water intake: Varennes, Verchères, Contrecoeur, Lavaltrie and Berthierville.

The question of diverting the water during the work was dodged by mentioning that it would cost 1 billion $ if we doubled all the piping on the Island!

The City has not made any “intelligible” document available: absence of report, plans for locating overflows, explanations on the nature of the “work”, etc. The authorization obtained from the Ministry of Sustainable Development, the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change was not provided and the Ministry was absent from the press conference.

The Fondation Rivières further considers that the City has not identified all possible measures to reduce impacts, such as temporary water pumping, a temporary pipeline or the use of specific construction methods. Nothing indicates the cost of such mitigation measures, nor indeed the cost that this mega-pollution would cause, the effects of which will remain for years and extend to the Lac-Saint-Pierre Biosphere Reserve. of UNESCO.

-30-

For informations :

Alain Saladzius
President
514 924-2013
presidency@fondationrivieres.org

Read the full press release

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Débordements d’égouts à Montréal : Les justifications ne sont aucunement convaincantes

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE
POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

Montréal, le 2 octobre 2015 – La Ville de Montréal n’a pas réussi à convaincre la Fondation Rivières du bien-fondé de sa décision de déverser le tiers de ses eaux d’égouts de l’Ile directement dans le fleuve Saint-Laurent pendant une semaine, à compter du 18 octobre prochain. Tout au plus la Ville a présenté le contexte des travaux : l’abandon de la chute à neige Wellington pour la relocaliser dans un accès sur la rue Riverside.

Les propos tenus au cours de la conférence de presse d’aujourd’hui suscitent davantage d’inquiétude. Incapable de nommer les municipalités qui s’approvisionnent dans le fleuve qui seraient touchées par le panache de contamination, la Ville pouvait néanmoins assurer qu’elles ne « seraient pas affectées ». Cinq municipalités recevraient pourtant des rejets d’égouts directement dans leur prise d’eau : Varennes, Verchères, Contrecoeur, Lavaltrie et Berthierville.

La question de dériver les eaux pendant les travaux a été esquivée en mentionnant qu’il en coûterait 1 milliard $ si on doublait toute la tuyauterie sur l’Ile !

La Ville n’a rendu disponible aucun document « intelligible » : absence de rapport, de plans de localisation des débordements, d’explications sur la nature des « travaux », etc. L’autorisation obtenue du ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques n’a pas été remise et le Ministère était absent de la conférence de presse.

La Fondation Rivières considère encore que la Ville n’a pas identifié toutes les mesures possibles pour réduire les impacts, tel un pompage temporaire des eaux, une conduite temporaire ou l’utilisation de méthodes de construction particulières. Rien n’indique le coût de telles mesures de mitigation, ni d’ailleurs le coût qu’occasionnerait cette méga-pollution dont les effets demeureront pendant des années et s’étendant jusqu’à la Réserve de la biosphère du Lac-Saint-Pierre de l’UNESCO.

-30-

Pour informations :

Alain Saladzius
Président
514 924-2013
presidence@fondationrivieres.org

Lire le communiqué

Inscrivez vous à notre infolettre →

Vous aimerez aussi

Thématiques qui pourraient vous intéresser