La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Wetlands: Asks the Coalition Avenir Québec to maintain the new conservation rules

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montreal, September 25, 2018 – Fondation Rivières learned with dismay, in an article in La Presse on September 24, 2018, that François Legault, head of the CAQ, is proposing to relax the rules for protecting wetlands which, according to him, “lack common sense” and represent a " issue " for the development of cities.

The Fondation Rivières denounces this vision of the past which consists of destroying wetlands and water bodies in order to make way for economic development. Especially since the new provincial regulation recently promulgated essentially aims to establish a fair price for the significant value of these environments. Developers will thus be able to take into account the fair value of the coveted land in comparison with others available in the region, and/or minimize the area affected.

The Foundation reminds Mr. Legault that wetlands and bodies of water are real surface water purification plants. They are water reservoirs in times of drought and recharge groundwater. In these times of increasingly obvious climate change, this is an undeniable advantage. In addition, these environments contribute greatly to the regulation of hydrological regimes, especially during periods of flooding. Finally, let us add that these environments serve as a refuge and nursery for a host of organisms essential to life: insects, animals and plants.

A large number of environmental and economic specialists now see wetlands and bodies of water as municipal green infrastructure. These infrastructures have the advantage of being already in place, they cost us nothing to build and cost nothing in management fees. Thus, the ecological services provided by wetlands and water bodies make it possible to achieve significant savings for citizens.

Conserve and protect wetlands: This is responsible behavior, a thoughtful vision of the future and a sustainable economy.

- 30 -

For information :   

Alain Saladzius
President
514 924-2013
presidency@fondationrivieres.org

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

COMMUNIQUÉ – Milieux humides : la Fondation prend position

, ,

Montréal, le 25 septembre 2018 – La Fondation Rivières a appris avec consternation, dans un article de La Presse du 24 septembre 2018, que François Legault, chef de la CAQ, propose d’assouplir les règles de protection des milieux humides qui, selon lui « manquent de bon sens » et représentent un « problème » pour le développement des villes.

La Fondation Rivières dénonce cette vision du passé qui consiste à détruire des milieux humides et hydriques afin de laisser place au développement économique. Surtout que le nouveau règlement provincial récemment promulgué vise essentiellement à établir un juste prix à la valeur importante de ces milieux. Les promoteurs pourront ainsi prendre en compte la juste valeur des terrains convoités en comparaison avec les autres disponibles dans la région, et/ou à minimiser la surface touchée.

La Fondation rappelle à M. Legault que les milieux humides et hydriques sont de véritables usines d’épuration des eaux de surfaces. Ils sont des réservoirs d’eau en période de sécheresse et rechargent les nappes phréatiques. En ces temps de changements climatiques de plus en plus manifestes, voilà un avantage indéniable. De plus, ces milieux contribuent grandement à la régularisation des régimes hydrologiques, surtout en périodes d’inondations. Ajoutons enfin que ces milieux servent de refuge et de pouponnière à une foule d’organismes essentiels à la vie : insectes, animaux et plantes.

Un grand nombre de spécialistes en environnement et en économie voient maintenant les milieux humides et hydriques comme des infrastructures vertes municipales.  Ces infrastructures ont l’avantage d’être déjà en place, elles ne nous coûtent rien à construire et ne coûtent rien en frais de gestion. Ainsi, les services écologiques que procurent les milieux humides et hydriques permettent de réaliser de très grandes économies aux citoyens.

Conserver et protéger les milieux humides : Voilà un comportement responsable, une vision d’avenir réfléchie et une économie durable.

Un texte résumant les bienfaits écologiques des milieux humides est disponible en cliquant sur ce lien:

GARAND G..Milieux humides – Fiche descriptive.pdf

Pour informations :   Guy Garand, vice-président 514 924-2013 presidence@fondationrivieres.org guy.garand@crelaval.qc.ca
1 réponse
  1. Martine Cyr
    Martine Cyr dit :

    Martine Cyr, projet Marécages, Depuis 2013, je contribue à faire connaître mieux ces milieux. Je consacre entièrement mon temps à faire valoir l’importance de ces écosystèmes pour l’équilibre de la nature et pour nous même. Les gardiens silencieux, livre illustré par les éditions du Grand Élan, nous démontre la vie présente sur observation de 12 mois. Préface de Mario Cyr et participation de Richard Desjardins.

    Répondre

Répondre

Se joindre à la discussion ?
Vous êtes libre de contribuer !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *