La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Hydroelectric power station on the 11th fall of the Mistassini River: authorization is based only on declarations of intent

11e chute de la rivière Mistassibi

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montreal, October 21, 2015 – Fondation Rivières denounces the government authorization to build a hydroelectric power station on the 11th fall of the Mistassini River in Lac-Saint-Jean, in the riding of Prime Minister Couillard. The government is thus deliberately turning a blind eye to a multitude of consequences as well as to the secret management of the Société de l'énergie sociale du Lac-Saint-Jean (SECLSJ) which is leading the issue. Important conclusions from the Bureau d'audiences publique sur l'environnement (BAPE) were not taken into account and the government analysis is erroneous regarding the real economic benefits of the project.

Thus, even reading the communicated and summary table of the “requirements” relating to the project, produced by the Ministry of Sustainable Development, Environment and the Fight against Climate Change (MDDELCC), we see that the authorization is essentially based on “monitoring” of the consequences of the work. For example, with regard to the anticipated ice jams, the promoter only had to commit to properly managing the problem and that would be it. This is the same irresponsible approach used in the case of the wastewater spill from the City of Montreal, for which the MDDELCC took comfort by requesting water analyzes
polluted river during the spill in order to know the impact

However, Fondation Rivières wrote to Minister Heurtel last September to inform him of these issues. No substantive response has been received.

Among the fundamental questions, that concerning the justification of the project remains. How can the government justify subsidizing regional development by purchasing electricity at too high a price? Such projects cause a deficit for Hydro-Québec while the government cuts public service budgets. Also, how is it that the government finances an organization like the SECLSJ which does not respect municipal laws by awarding lucrative professional service contracts without calls for tenders and systematically refuses access to information on its administration?

The Fondation Rivières therefore calls on the government not to give the other authorizations required for this project, including authorization of financing by loan regulations.

-30-

For informations :

Alain Saladzius
President
514 924-2013
presidency@fondationrivieres.org

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Faites un don

Centrale hydroélectrique sur la 11e chute de la rivière Mistassini : l’autorisation ne repose que sur des déclarations d’intentions

11e chute de la rivière Mistassibi

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE
POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

Montréal, le 21 octobre 2015 – La Fondation Rivières dénonce l’autorisation gouvernementale de construire une centrale hydroélectrique sur la 11e chute de la rivière Mistassini au Lac-Saint-Jean, dans le comté du premier ministre Couillard. Le gouvernement ferme ainsi délibérément les yeux sur une multitude de conséquences de même que sur la gestion occulte de la Société de l’énergie communautaire du Lac-Saint-Jean (SECLSJ) qui pilote le dossier. D’importantes conclusions du Bureau d’audiences publiques sur l’environnement (BAPE) n’ont pas été prises en compte et l’analyse gouvernementale est erronée quant aux retombées économiques réelles du projet.

Ainsi, à la lecture même du communiqué et du tableau synthèse des « exigences » relatives au projet, produit par le ministère du Développement durable, de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques (MDDELCC), on constate que l’autorisation repose essentiellement sur des «suivis» des conséquences des travaux. Par exemple, en ce qui concerne les embâcles de glace appréhendées, le promoteur n’a eu qu’à s’engager à bien gérer la problématique et le tour sera joué. Il s’agit de la même approche irresponsable utilisée dans le dossier du déversement des eaux usées de la Ville de Montréal, pour lequel le MDDELCC s’est conforté en demandant des analyses de l’eau
polluée du fleuve pendant le déversement afin d’en connaître l’impact

La Fondation Rivières a pourtant écrit au ministre Heurtel en septembre dernier pour l’informer de ces enjeux. Aucune réponse sur le fond n’est parvenue.

Parmi les questions fondamentales, celle concernant la justification du projet demeure. Comment le gouvernement peut-il justifier de subventionner le développement régional par l’achat d’électricité à un prix trop élevé? De tels projets occasionnent un déficit pour Hydro-Québec alors que le gouvernement coupe dans les budgets des services publics. Aussi, comment se fait-il que le gouvernement finance un organisme tel la SECLSJ qui ne respecte pas les lois municipales en attribuant de lucratifs contrats de services professionnels sans appel d’offres et refuse systématiquement l’accès à l’information sur son administration?

La Fondation Rivières interpelle donc le gouvernement à ne pas donner les autres autorisations requises pour ce projet, dont l’autorisation du financement par règlement d’emprunt.

-30-

Pour informations :

Alain Saladzius
Président
514 924-2013
presidence@fondationrivieres.org

Faites une différence

Découvrez comment prendre action pour la protection des rivières et cours d’eau du Québec en vous inscrivant à notre infolettre. 

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Suivi qualité de l'eau et dépistage dans la rivière du Nord (2021)

Faites un don pour protéger les rivières et les cours d'eau du Québec

La Fondation Rivières et une organisation a but non lucrative qui voit à la préservation, la restauration et la mise en valeur du caractère naturel et écologique des rivières.