Donate
Search
Close this search box.
La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Unprecedented mining boom around Mont Tremblant and in southern Quebec: Call for moratorium

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montreal, August 18, 2022 - In new map released today, a coalition of environmental organizations reveals a boom of mining claims varying from 49.1 % to 408 % in four tourist regions of southern Quebec. Faced with this boom unprecedented, the coalition is urging Quebec to establish a moratorium, as long as the rules dictated by the Mining Act have not been modified. 

This boom of mining claims is consistent with an increase in global demand for so-called “future” minerals and the launch of Quebec plan for the valorization of critical and strategic minerals, in fall 2020. Among the highlights noted by the organizations, we note:

  • An increase 4.9 times faster than in the rest of Quebec – It is in Lanaudière that we have observed the largest increase in mining titles since January 2021 (408 %), followed by Outaouais (211%), Laurentides (71.2 %) and Mauricie (49.1 % ). This is an average increase of 129%, or 4.9 times higher than the increase observed throughout Quebec during the same period.
  • Around parks and in large wildlife reserves – Today there are more than 15,413 mining titles in Outaouais (4,359), Laurentides (3,160), Lanaudière (3,827) and Mauricie (4,067). Hundreds of claims are attached to large national and regional parks (Mont Tremblant, Lac Taureau, etc.), while others are found directly within major wildlife reserves (Papineau-Labelle, La Vérendrye, etc.).
  • An increase 4 times greater than that of protected territories – Across Quebec, the increase in the area covered by mining titles since January 2021 (8.7 to 11.3 million hectares or +29.9 %) is 4 times greater than the increase in territories protected from mining activity (45.8 to 49.2 million hectares or +7.4 %) established during the same period.
  • As big as Belgium, Denmark and Switzerland combined Quebec is vast and although the surface area of its territory today covered by mining titles seems small (6.8% of the territory or 11.3 million hectares), this is in fact equivalent to 20.4 million football fields or the total area of Belgium, Denmark and Switzerland combined. 
  • Populations not informed, not consulted Nothing in the Mining Act currently requires mining companies to inform or consult citizens, municipalities and Indigenous communities. Before to acquire new mining claims in their territories. With a simple click online, anyone can acquire a claim with less than 40 $. Once acquired, the claim confers an “exclusive right” to its holder who can then renew it indefinitely at little cost, thereby preventing the creation of protected areas or integrated land development.

Faced with this wave of mining claims sweeping across southern Quebec in a chaotic manner, without planning and without consulting local populations, organizations are urging Quebec to establish a moratorium. In a letter sent to the government, they ask in particular to review the Mining Act and the rules for applying “territories incompatible with mining activity” (TIAM) in order to better protect tourist areas and valued natural environments. 

This call echoes some 25 municipalities currently mobilized in southern Quebec, as well as in another asked made earlier this year regarding the need to protect drinking water eskers in Abitibi-Témiscamingue.

Recall that a recent Light survey underlines that 3 out of 4 people in Quebec (78 %) say they are in favor of “requiring the consent of local populations (e.g.: municipalities, Indigenous Nations) before authorizing any mining activity on their territory”. A similar proportion (75 %) asks “to prohibit all mining projects in tourist or resort areas”. Almost all (89 %) of respondents want to “prohibit the discharge of mining waste into any lake, river or sensitive ecological environment”.

- 30 -

Source :
Quebec Better Look Coalition

For information :

  • Ugo Lapointe, Quebec Better Look Coalition: 514-708-0134
  • Alice de Swarte, Society for Nature and Parks – SNAP Quebec: 514 575 4941
  • Rébecca Pétrin, Eau Secours: 514-246-9075
  • Louis St-Hilaire, Group for the protection of the lakes of the Petite-Nation: 514-591-9167
  • André Bélanger, Fondation Rivières, 514-272-2666, 301
  • Martin Vaillancourt, National grouping of regional environmental councils, (418) 265-7545
  • Daniel Tokatéloff, Association for the Protection of Lake Taureau (514-973-5187, 514-212-2112)

Supporting this request (alphabetical):

  • Association for the Protection of Lake Taureau (APLT)
  • Quebec Association of Physicians for the Environment (AQME)
  • Center for research in education and training relating to the environment and eco-citizenship (Centr’ERE)
  • Quebec Better Look Coalition
  • Emergency Water 
  • Fondation Rivières
  • Nature Quebec
  • National grouping of regional environmental councils (RNCREQ)
  • Group for the protection of the lakes of the Petite-Nation
  • Society for Nature and Parks – SNAP Quebec
  • SOS – Grenville-sur-la-Rouge

Quotes :

“What our map shows is much worse than we could have imagined. We are currently witnessing the appropriation of vast swathes of southern Quebec by the mining exploration industry. This is happening without citizens knowing it or having a say. At this rate, we will soon be faced with a fait accompli. Quebec will become the Alberta of minerals. » – Louis St-Hilaire, Group for the protection of the Petite-Nation lakes 

“Abitibi was built on a boom in mining claims 100 years ago, a boom which has continued to expand since, without consulting the population, in the total chaos of the Mining Act. Forty percent of the Abitibi territory is today “frozen” due to mining claims, preventing any other use of the territory. Southern Quebec should not be subjected to this archaic policy. » – Richard Desjardins, Action boréale

“The government and the mining industry advertise a lot about minerals of the future. But in this matter, it is also our future that is at stake and we would like to have a say on the subject. For the moment, we have no ear from the government and we fear becoming a sacrificed region. » – David Pharand, mayor of Duhamel

“Quebec cannot move forward with so-called “future” minerals with laws and practices from the past. We must put health and the environment at the heart of current mining laws and policies” – Ugo Lapointe, Coalition Québec Meilleur Mine 

“Environmental protection is the basis of a responsible and competitive mining industry. Quebec has many assets to position itself as a leader, but it must not give in to urgency. The government must achieve environmental objectives and also ensure the social acceptability of projects among host communities.” – Martin Vaillancourt, National grouping of regional environmental councils

“In 2022, it is high time to stop considering Quebec's natural environments as a simple reservoir of industrial resources to be exploited. Reserving large areas of untouched nature for our physical and spiritual well-being and that of our descendants is more than a necessity, it is an imperative.” – Normand Ethier, SOS Grenville-sur-la-Rouge

“We should not underestimate the current and future mining boom associated with American and European demand, in particular to supply the minerals necessary for the manufacture of batteries. The population is not ready to sacrifice its health and the environment in the name of saving the climate. It takes a real ecological transition which is much larger than the manufacture of batteries. – Daniel Tokatéloff – Association for the protection of Lake Taureau

“As Quebec prepares to host COP15 on biodiversity, it is urgent to review our planning practices and prioritize conservation and access to nature, for living and protected territories. It’s time for nature claims to replace mining claims! » – Alice de Swarte, Society for Nature and Parks of Quebec (SNAP Quebec) 

“Knowing the importance of wetlands and water environments for the quality of our lives but also as a vital water resource, it is completely reckless to let the mining industry have the leisure to explore wherever it wants. We must protect these environments; the quality of life of all and future generations depends on it. » – Rébecca Pétrin, Eau Secours

“Our citizens are very attached to our territory, dotted with exceptional lakes and rivers. We hear their message very clearly and we share it. Under current government rules, our MRC is incompatible with mining activity. » – Benoit Lauzon, prefect of the MRC of Papineau

Documentation :

About Coalition Québec Meilleur Mine

Coalition So that Quebec looks better! was created in the spring of 2008 and is today made up of around thirty organizations, including Fondation Rivières, representing more than 250,000 members in Quebec. The coalition's mission is to review the way in which the mining sector is managed and developed in Quebec, in order to harmonize its activities with the community and promote best practices on a social and environmental level.

Photo: Tobias Kleeb

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Fondation Rivières logo blanc

Boom minier sans précédent autour du Mont Tremblant et dans le sud du Québec : Appel au moratoire

COMMUNIQUÉ DE PRESSE
POUR DIFFUSION IMMÉDIATE

Montréal, 18 août 2022 – Dans une nouvelle carte rendue publique aujourd’hui, une coalition d’organismes environnementaux révèle un boom de claims miniers variant de 49,1 % à 408 % dans quatre régions touristiques du sud du Québec. Face à ce boom sans précédent, la coalition presse Québec d’instaurer un moratoire, et ce, tant que les règles dictées par la Loi sur les mines n’auront pas été modifiées. 

Ce boom de claims miniers concorde avec une augmentation de la demande mondiale pour les minéraux dits « d’avenir » et le lancement du Plan québécois de valorisation des minéraux critiques et stratégiques, à l’automne 2020. Parmi les faits saillants relevés par les organismes, notons :

  • Une augmentation 4,9 fois plus rapide que dans le reste du Québec – C’est dans Lanaudière qu’on observe la plus forte augmentation de titres miniers depuis janvier 2021 (408 %), suivi de l’Outaouais (211%), des Laurentides (71,2 %) et de la Mauricie (49,1 %). Il s’agit d’une augmentation moyenne de 129%, soit 4,9 fois plus élevée que l’augmentation observée sur l’ensemble du territoire québécois au cours de la même période.
  • Autour de parcs et dans des réserves fauniques d’envergure – On compte aujourd’hui plus de 15 413 titres miniers dans l’Outaouais (4 359), les Laurentides (3 160), Lanaudière (3 827) et la Mauricie (4 067). Des centaines de claims sont collés sur des parcs nationaux et régionaux d’envergure (Mont Tremblant, Lac Taureau, etc.), alors que d’autres se retrouvent directement à l’intérieur de réserves fauniques d’importance (Papineau-Labelle, La Vérendrye, etc.).
  • Une augmentation 4 fois plus importante que celle des territoires protégés – À l’échelle du Québec, l’augmentation de la superficie couverte par des titres miniers depuis janvier 2021 (8,7 à 11,3 millions d’hectares ou +29,9 %) est 4 fois plus importante que l’augmentation des territoires protégés de l’activité minière (45,8 à 49,2 millions d’hectares ou +7,4 %) instaurés au cours de la même période.
  • Aussi grand que la Belgique, le Danemark et la Suisse réunis Le Québec est vaste et bien que la superficie de son territoire aujourd’hui couverte de titres miniers paraît faible (6,8% du territoire ou 11,3 millions d’hectares), cela équivaut dans les faits à 20,4 millions terrains de football ou la superficie totale de la Belgique, du Danemark et de la Suisse réunis. 
  • Populations non informées, non consultées Rien dans la Loi sur les mines n’oblige présentement les entreprises minières à informer ou à consulter les citoyens, les municipalités et les communautés autochtones avant d’acquérir de nouveaux claims miniers sur leurs territoires. D’un simple clic en ligne, n’importe qui peut acquérir un claim avec moins de 40 $. Une fois acquis, le claim confère un « droit exclusif » à son détenteur qui peut alors le renouveler indéfiniment à peu de frais, empêchant dès lors la création d’aires protégées ou l’aménagement intégré du territoire.

Face à cette vague de claims miniers qui déferle sur le sud du Québec de façon chaotique, sans planification et sans consultation des populations locales, les organismes pressent Québec d’instaurer un moratoire. Dans une lettre envoyée au gouvernement, ils demandent notamment de revoir la Loi sur les mines et les règles d’application des « territoires incompatibles avec l’activité minière » (TIAM) afin de mieux protéger les zones touristiques et les milieux naturels valorisés. 

Cet appel fait écho aux quelque 25 municipalités présentement mobilisées dans le sud du Québec, de même qu’à une autre demande faite plus tôt cette année concernant la nécessité de protéger des eskers d’eau potable en Abitibi-Témiscamingue.

Rappelons qu’un récent sondage Léger souligne que 3 personnes sur 4 au Québec (78 %) se disent favorables « d’exiger le consentement des populations locales (p.ex.: municipalités, Nations autochtones) avant d’autoriser toute activité minière sur leur territoire ». Une proportion semblable (75 %) demande « d’interdire tout projet minier dans des zones touristiques ou de villégiature ». La quasi-totalité (89 %) des répondants souhaitent « interdire le rejet de déchets miniers dans tout lac, rivière ou milieu écologique sensible ».

– 30 –

Source :
Coalition Québec meilleure mine

Pour information :

  • Ugo Lapointe, Coalition Québec meilleure mine : 514-708-0134
  • Alice de Swarte, Société pour la nature et les parcs – SNAP Québec : 514 575 4941
  • Rébecca Pétrin, Eau Secours : 514-246-9075
  • Louis St-Hilaire, Regroupement pour la protection des lacs de la Petite-Nation : 514-591-9167
  • André Bélanger, Fondation Rivières, 514-272-2666, 301
  • Martin Vaillancourt, Regroupement national des conseils régionaux de l’environnement, (418) 265-7545
  • Daniel Tokatéloff, Association pour la protection du lac Taureau (514-973-5187,  514-212-2112)

Appuyant cette demande (alphabétique) :

  • Association pour la protection du lac Taureau (APLT)
  • Association québécoise des médecins pour l’environnement (AQME)
  • Centre de recherche en éducation et formation relatives à l’environnement et à l’écocitoyenneté (Centr’ERE)
  • Coalition Québec meilleure mine
  • Eau Secours 
  • Fondation Rivières
  • Nature Québec
  • Regroupement national des conseils régionaux de l’environnement (RNCREQ)
  • Regroupement pour la protection des lacs de la Petite-Nation
  • Société pour la nature et les parcs – SNAP Québec
  • SOS – Grenville-sur-la-Rouge

Citations :

« Ce que notre carte démontre est bien pire qu’on ne pouvait l’imaginer. On assiste actuellement à l’appropriation de vastes pans du sud du Québec par l’industrie de l’exploration minière. Ceci se passe sans que les citoyens le sachent et aient un mot à dire. A ce rythme, on sera bientôt devant un fait accompli. Le Québec va devenir l’Alberta des minéraux. » – Louis St-Hilaire, Regroupement pour la protection des lacs de la Petite-Nation 

« L’Abitibi c’est bâti sur un boom de claims miniers il y a 100 ans, boom qui n’a cessé de s’étendre depuis, sans consulter la population, dans le chaos total de la Loi des mines. Quarante pourcents du territoire abitibien est aujourd’hui « gelé » en raison des claims miniers, empêchant toute autre utilisation du territoire. Il ne faudrait pas que le sud du Québec subisse cette archaïque politique. » – Richard Desjardins, Action boréale

« Le gouvernement et l’industrie minière font beaucoup de publicité sur les minéraux d’avenir. Mais dans ce dossier, c’est aussi de notre avenir dont il est question et on aimerait avoir un mot à dire sur le sujet. Pour l’instant, on n’a aucune écoute du gouvernement et on craint de devenir une région sacrifiée. » – David Pharand, maire de Duhamel

« Le Québec ne peut pas aller de l’avant avec des minéraux dits « d’avenir » avec des lois et des pratiques du passé. Il faut remettre la santé et l’environnement au coeur des lois et des politiques minières actuelles » – Ugo Lapointe, Coalition Québec meilleure mine 

« La protection de l’environnement est à la base d’une industrie minière responsable et compétitive. Le Québec a de nombreux atouts pour se positionner en leader, mais il ne doit pas céder à l’urgence. Le gouvernement doit atteindre les objectifs environnementaux et également veiller à l’acceptabilité sociale des projets auprès des communautés d’accueil.» – Martin Vaillancourt, Regroupement national des conseils régionaux de l’environnement

« En 2022, il est plus que temps de cesser de considérer les milieux naturels du Québec comme un simple réservoir de ressources industrielles à exploiter. Réserver de grands pans de nature inviolée pour notre bien-être physique et spirituel et celui de nos descendants est plus qu’une nécessité, c’est un impératif.» – Normand Ethier, SOS Grenville-sur-la-Rouge

« Il ne faut pas sous-estimer le boom minier qui est en cours et à venir associé à la demande américaine et européenne, notamment pour fournir les minéraux nécessaires à la fabrication de batteries. La population n’est pas prête à sacrifier sa santé et l’environnement en prétendant sauver le climat. Ça prend une véritable transition écologique qui est bien plus vaste que la fabrication de batteries.» – Daniel Tokatéloff – Association pour la protection du lac Taureau

« Alors que le Québec s’apprête à accueillir la COP15 sur la biodiversité, il est urgent de revoir nos pratiques d’aménagement et de prioriser la conservation et l’accès à la nature, pour des territoires vivants et protégés. Il est temps que les claims nature remplacent les claims miniers !  » – Alice de Swarte, Société pour la nature et les parcs du Québec (SNAP Québec) 

« Sachant l’importance qu’occupent les milieux humides et hydriques pour la qualité de nos vies mais également comme ressource vitale en eau, il est complètement insouciant de laisser l’industrie minière avoir le loisir d’explorer où bon lui semble. Nous devons protéger ces milieux, c’est la qualité de vie de tous et des générations futures qui en dépend. » – Rébecca Pétrin, Eau Secours

« Nos citoyens sont très attachés à notre territoire, parsemé de lacs et cours d’eau exceptionnels. On entend très clairement leur message et nous le partageons. Dans les règles actuelles du gouvernement, notre MRC est incompatible avec l’activité minière. » – Benoit Lauzon, préfet de la MRC de Papineau

Documentation :

À propos de Coalition Québec meilleure mine

La coalition Pour que le Québec ait meilleure mine ! a vu le jour au printemps 2008 et est, aujourd’hui, constituée d’une trentaine d’organismes, dont Fondation Rivières, représentant plus de 250 000 membres au Québec. La coalition s’est donnée pour mission de revoir la façon dont on encadre et développe le secteur minier au Québec, afin d’harmoniser ses activités avec le milieu et de promouvoir de meilleures pratiques aux plans social et environnemental.

Photo : Tobias Kleeb

Inscrivez vous à notre infolettre →

Vous aimerez aussi

Thématiques qui pourraient vous intéresser