La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Legal opinion on the Bloom Lake mine: Quebec has the power to prevent the destruction of the lakes

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montreal, November 17, 2020 As the hearings of the Office of public hearings on the environment (BAPE) relating to the Lac Bloom mine expansion project, the organizations Emergency Water, Fondation Rivières and Quebec better look reveal a new study and one judicial advice which clearly demonstrate that Quebec has the legal power to refuse to transform the 8 lakes targeted by Champion Iron into mining waste bins.

Contrary to what the initiator of the project claims, the Ministry of the Environment and the Fight against Climate Change (MELCC) as well as the Ministry of Energy and Natural Resources (MERN) have all the legal powers, under the Environmental Quality Act and the Mining Act, to prohibit the destruction of natural environments and require alternative solutions.

Indeed, the Quebec Mining Act in its preamble recalls “that it is necessary to ensure environmentally friendly mineral development” while article 17 specifies that mining development must be carried out  “from a sustainable development perspective”. As such “the principle of optimal use of mineral resources does not take precedence over environmental protection”, as the mining promoter seems to claim.

These legal bases allow Me Marc Bishai of the firm Bélanger Avocats Inc., to support, in an official notice, that the desire to destroy lakes and other wet and water environments announced by the mining company constitutes “reasonable cause” for the government of Quebec to refuse the project, to force its modification or “to impose significant measures” aimed at protecting the environment.

A study carried out by Dr. Steve H. Emerman of Malach Consulting also concludes that it would be technically and economically possible for the proponent to return part of the mining tailings to the excavated pits to avoid the permanent and irreversible destruction of lakes and aquatic ecosystems, while reducing the risk of mining spills caused by dyke failures. Still according to the author, the promoter's double assertion that there are additional potentially exploitable resources and that 100% of the pit must be left open for this purpose is contradicted by current studies and contravenes the regulatory standards of the securities authorities. .

Consequently, Québec Meilleur Mine, Eau Secours and Fondation Rivières are asking the Quebec government to require Champion Iron to submit new technical, financial and environmental studies that meet the regulatory standards of the securities authorities, including cost-benefit analyzes of various scenarios. partial backfilling of the pits to avoid the destruction of the lakes. The organizations also want Quebec to clarify its powers by prohibiting, in a regulation, the destruction of lakes and rivers for the storage of mining residues in Quebec. They will present their briefs to the BAPE this week.

- 30 -

For informations :

André Bélanger, Fondation Rivières, c. 514 295-1194
Ugo Lapointe, Québec Meilleur Mine and MiningWatch Canada, c. 514 708-0134
Rébecca Pétrin, Eau Secours, c. 514 246-9075

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Avis juridique sur la mine du Lac Bloom : Québec a le pouvoir d’empêcher la destruction des lacs

img-Bloom Lake Iron Mine Expansion Credit Lac Bloom

Alors que s’ouvrent aujourd’hui les audiences du Bureau d’audiences publiques sur l’environnement (BAPE) portant sur le projet d’agrandissement de la mine Lac Bloom, les organismes Eau Secours, Fondation Rivières et Québec meilleure mine dévoilent une nouvelle étude et un avis juridique qui démontrent clairement que Québec a le pouvoir légal de refuser que soient transformés en poubelles à résidus miniers les 8 lacs ciblés par Champion Iron.

Contrairement à ce que prétend l’initiateur du projet, le ministère de l’Environnement et de la Lutte contre les changements climatiques (MELCC) ainsi que le ministère de l’Énergie et des Ressources naturelles (MERN) disposent de tous les pouvoirs légaux, en vertu de la Loi sur qualité de l’environnement et de la Loi sur les mines, pour interdire la destruction de milieux naturels et exiger des solutions de rechange.

En effet, la Loi sur les mines du Québec dans son préambule rappelle « qu’il est nécessaire d’assurer un développement minéral respectueux de l’environnement » tandis que l’article 17 précise que le développement minier doit se faire  « dans une perspective de développement durable  ». À ce titre « le principe de l’utilisation optimale des ressources minérales n’a pas préséance sur la protection de l’environnement », comme semble le prétendre le promoteur minier.

Ces assises juridiques permettent à Me Marc Bishai de la firme Bélanger Avocats Inc., de soutenir, dans un avis officiel, que la volonté de détruire des lacs et autres milieux humides et hydriques annoncée par la compagnie minière constitue « un motif raisonnable » pour le gouvernement du Québec de refuser le projet, d’obliger sa modification ou « d’imposer des mesures importantes » visant à protéger l’environnement.

Une étude réalisée par le Dr. Steve H. Emerman de Malach Consulting conclut par ailleurs qu’il serait techniquement et économiquement possible pour le promoteur de retourner une partie des résidus miniers dans les fosses excavées pour éviter la destruction permanente et irréversible des lacs et des écosystèmes aquatiques, tout en réduisant les risques de déversements miniers occasionnés par des bris de digues. Toujours selon l’auteur, la double affirmation du promoteur selon laquelle il y aurait des ressources additionnelles possiblement exploitables et que l’on doit laisser 100% de la fosse ouverte à cet effet est contredite par les études actuelles et contrevient aux normes réglementaires des autorités mobilières.

En conséquence, Québec meilleure mine, Eau Secours et Fondation Rivières demandent au gouvernement du Québec d’exiger que Champion Iron dépose des nouvelles études techniques, financières et environnementales qui rencontrent les normes réglementaires des autorités mobilières, en incluant des analyses coûts-bénéfices de divers scénarios de remblaiement partiel des fosses pour éviter la destruction des lacs. Les organismes souhaitent également que Québec clarifie ses pouvoirs en interdisant, dans un règlement, la destruction de lacs et de rivières pour l’entreposage de résidus miniers au Québec . Ils présenteront leurs mémoires devant le BAPE cette semaine.

-30-

Pour informations :

André Bélanger, Fondation Rivières, c. 514 295-1194

Ugo Lapointe, Québec meilleure mine et MiningWatch Canada, c. 514 708-0134

Rébecca Pétrin, Eau Secours, c. 514 246-9075

 

X