La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Be careful not to oversalt the rivers!

Déneigement

Every winter, 800,000 tonnes of de-icing salts are applied to Quebec roads, we learn from Ministry of Transport (2019). These substances accumulate and end up in watercourses through runoff, which represents a significant risk for aquatic fauna and flora, as indicated in the report.Environment Canada 2001.

Alternatives to de-icing salt

Alternatives include biodegradable ice melters such as wood chips or beet juice which are often combined with traditional abrasives such as sand or crushed stone. Also, changes in habits. For example, more frequent use of the “scraper” and a reduction in speed can contribute to reducing the application of used salts. 

It currently exists in Quebec 24 roads de-iced almost exclusively without salt. So yes, it is possible to de-ice roads without salt and minimize negative impacts on the environment and waterways.

Do not hesitate to inform your elected officials and employees of your municipality, in order to offer them these types of ecological alternatives, which are increasingly popular and often much more affordable.

About the Author

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Explore

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed about our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Faites un don
Search
Fermez ce champ de recherche.

Attention à ne pas trop saler les rivières!

Déneigement

Chaque hiver, 800 000 tonnes de sels de déglaçage sont appliqués sur les routes du Québec, nous apprend le Ministère des Transports (2019). Ces substances s’accumulent et se retrouvent dans les cours d’eau par le ruissellement, ce qui représente un risque important pour la faune et la flore aquatique, comme indiqué dans le rapport d‘Environnement Canada de 2001.

Des alternatives au sel de déglaçage

Parmi les solutions de rechanges, on retrouve des déglaçants biodégradables tels que les copeaux de bois ou le jus de betterave qui sont souvent combinés à des abrasifs traditionnels comme le sable ou la pierre concassée. Aussi, des changements d’habitudes. Par exemple, une utilisation plus fréquente de la « gratte » et une réduction de la vitesse peuvent contribuer à la réduction de l’application de sels utilisés. 

Il existe en ce moment au Québec 24 routes déglacées presque exclusivement sans sels. Donc oui, il est possible de déglacer les routes sans sels et de minimiser les impacts négatifs sur l’environnement et les cours d’eau.

N’hésitez pas à informer vos élu.e.s et les employés de votre municipalité, afin de leur proposer ce genre d’alternatives écologiques de plus en plus populaires et souvent, beaucoup plus abordables.

À propos de l'auteur

Faites une différence pour l'environnement

Devenez membre de la Fondation en faisant un don. Votre contribution permet à notre équipe de continuer à se mobiliser pour protéger les rivières et cours d’eau du Québec pour les générations futures. 

Vous avez une question ?

Suivez-nous

Notre numéro d’organisme de bienfaisance : 14505 9911 RR0002

Restez informés de nos actions pour la protection des rivières du Québec