La Fondation Rivières -logo blanc
Donate
Search
Close this search box.

Development of the port of Montreal in Contrecoeur: several impacts ignored or undervalued

PRESS RELEASE
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Montreal, February 5, 2018 – On February 1, the Montreal Port Authority (MPA) revealed the details of its project to build a maritime terminal in Contrecœur. The project would occupy 4 km of natural bank on the St. Lawrence River, near a residential area of Verchères in the countryside, facing Bouchard Island, worthy of a park. The first phase provides for a 675-meter quay and a transit capacity of 1.15 million containers per year. This project worries the Fondation Rivières, given the scale of the anticipated impacts and its incompatibility with rural, agricultural and tourist uses around the sector retained by the APM.

The copper redhorse and the western chorus frog, two species protected by the Species at Risk Act, are reported in the project study area. The dredging of an area of more than 160,000 m2 of sediment is required for the construction of the quay in phase 1. The aquatic habitat of these protected species will therefore be negatively influenced, both by the construction work of the quay and by its use. daily. Also, remember that the Contrecœur Islands, a national wildlife reserve, are located approximately 2 km downstream from the planned terminal. Given this short distance, we fear that the maritime terminal will become a nuisance for this reserve, the wildlife it shelters and the recreational and tourism quality of the environment.

Human habitat will also be significantly affected by this project. The light pollution that this terminal would cause, visible as far as the North Shore, risks displeasing neighboring municipalities. Air pollution, noise and dust from trucks and trains passing through the terminal will be major. The influx of trucks could reach up to 2,000 vehicles per day in phase 1 of the project. This represents a significant additional contribution, not only in terms of GHG for the atmosphere, but also in vehicles on neighboring roads and highways. Highway 30 is already experiencing chronic congestion in places and the terminal at Contrecœur would considerably increase this toll. Route 132 will also be disrupted by the increase in traffic caused by the maritime terminal.

The APM acquired the land in Contrecœur more than 30 years ago. Even if this site constituted an interesting development option at the time of the acquisition, the evolution of our laws and the importance of land planning taking into account the various current environmental issues push us to question the necessity of the project at this location. You should know that this sector of Contrecœur, considered heavenly by some, has enormous recreational tourism potential to be developed. The construction of the terminal at Contrecœur would destroy this natural gem. Does Quebec want to become a container hub, or a place sought after by everyone for its exceptional assets?

The Fondation Rivières wishes to form a work team with other environmental groups and citizens to study in more detail this project subject to the assessment process of the Canadian Environmental Assessment Agency (CEAA). The official information page for this project can be found here.

-30-

For informations :

Alain Saladzius
President
514 924-2013
presidency@fondationrivieres.org

To learn more about this project, we recommend these articles:

Labels

Our recent press releases

To go further

Contribute to the protection of Quebec’s rivers

In addition to supporting our team in protecting rivers, your donation entitles you to a charitable tax receipt.

Make a difference for the environment

Become a member of the Foundation by donating. Your contribution allows our team to continue to mobilize to protect Quebec's rivers and waterways for future generations. 

Do you have a question?

Follow us

Our charity number : 14505 9911 RR0002

Stay informed of our actions to protect Quebec's rivers

Développement du port de Montréal à Contrecoeur : Plusieurs impacts ignorés ou sous-évalués

,

Montréal, le 5 février 2018 – Le 1er février dernier, l’Administration portuaire de Montréal (APM) dévoilait les détails de son projet visant la construction d’un terminal maritime à Contrecœur. Le projet occuperait 4 km de berge naturelle sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent, à proximité d’un secteur résidentiel de Verchères en pleine campagne, face à l’île Bouchard, digne d’un parc. La première phase prévoit un quai de 675 mètres et une capacité de transit de 1,15 million de conteneurs par année. Ce projet inquiète la Fondation Rivières, vu l’ampleur des impacts appréhendés et son incompatibilité avec les usages ruraux, agricoles et touristiques aux alentours du secteur retenu par l’APM.

Le chevalier cuivré et la rainette faux-grillon de l’Ouest, deux espèces protégées par la Loi sur les espèces en péril, sont signalées dans la zone d’étude du projet. Le dragage d’une surface de plus de 160 000 m2 de sédiments est requis pour la construction du quai en phase 1. L’habitat aquatique de ces espèces protégées sera donc influencé négativement, tant par les travaux de construction du quai que par son utilisation quotidienne. Aussi, rappelons que les Îles de Contrecœur, une réserve nationale de la faune, se trouvent à environ 2 km en aval du terminal projeté. Vu cette courte distance, nous craignons que le terminal maritime devienne une nuisance pour cette réserve, la faune qu’elle abrite et la qualité récréotouristique du milieu.

L’habitat humain sera lui aussi touché de manière importante par ce projet. La pollution lumineuse qu’occasionnerait ce terminal, visible jusqu’en Rive Nord, risque de déplaire aux municipalités avoisinantes. La pollution de l’air, le bruit et la poussière dus aux camions et trains transitant par le terminal seront majeurs. L’affluence des camions pourrait atteindre jusqu’à 2 000 véhicules par jour en phase 1 du projet. Cela représente un apport supplémentaire important, non seulement en termes de GES pour l’atmosphère, mais aussi en véhicules sur les routes et autoroutes avoisinantes. L’autoroute 30 connaît déjà des congestions chroniques par endroits et le terminal à Contrecœur viendrait alourdir considérablement ce bilan. La route 132 sera elle aussi perturbée par l’augmentation de l’achalandage causé par le terminal maritime.


Route 132, à proximité du site proposé pour le terminal © Google

L’APM a acquis le terrain à Contrecœur il y a plus de 30 ans. Même si ce site constituait une option intéressante de développement au moment de l’acquisition, l’évolution de nos lois et l’importance d’un aménagement du territoire prenant en compte les divers enjeux environnementaux d’actualités nous poussent à remettre en question la nécessité du projet à cet endroit. Il faut savoir que ce secteur de Contrecœur, considéré comme paradisiaque par certains, possède un énorme potentiel récréotouristique à développer. La construction du terminal à Contrecœur viendrait détruire ce joyau naturel. Le Québec souhaite-t-il devenir une plaque tournante de conteneurs, ou bien un lieu recherché de tous pour ses atouts exceptionnels?

La Fondation Rivières souhaite former une équipe de travail avec d’autres groupes environnementaux et citoyens pour étudier plus en détail ce projet assujetti au processus d’évaluation de l’Agence canadienne d’évaluation environnementale (ACEE). La page d’information officielle pour ce projet peut être trouvée ici.

Pour en savoir plus sur ce projet, nous vous recommandons ces articles :

Le Devoir, 1er février 2018, A. Shields : Espèces protégées: l’expansion du Port de Montréal pourrait être bloquée

La Presse, 1er février 2018, B. Bisson : Contrecoeur: un terminal maritime de 650 millions et de 1000 emplois

Le Soleil, 1er février 2018, I. Bussières : Labeaume à la défense du Port de Québec

Le Devoir, 2 février 2018, A. Shields : Terminal de Contrecoeur: Québec contrevient à sa propre loi

Le Devoir, 3 février 2018, A. Shields : Ottawa s’engage à protéger le chevalier cuivré

0 réponses

Répondre

Se joindre à la discussion ?
Vous êtes libre de contribuer !

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *